Some beginning's end

in #nature5 years ago

End of summer. Or the beginning of autumn. It's really just a point of view. Where you're going depends on where you've been, but even more on what you do to get there.

I'm sad summer's over and people keep telling me there will be others. Yes, but not like this. It's like someone dies and you say "oh but there'll be other humans", you know?
True, but missing the point.

Don't you just love the color of sunset? I could just stare at it forever.so what are your plans for the coming autumn?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

what are your plans for the coming autumn?

First there is September. That bridge which is neither one or the other. Then there is remembering September. And after that, the doormouse will sleep to dream of September.

What a great answer, thank you. It really made me smile. :)

what are your plans for the coming autumn?

Pretty much working until going to Thailand for Steemfest. A Steem meetup in Tampere, Finland is also under planning :D

Huh sounds fun. Enjoy :)

When I was a kid, and the summer was about to end, I reacted by staying up all night reading old comic books, because I just wanted time to stop. I think on some level I can relate to your mood, I guess on a practical level summer is all about freedom (and heat, which I just love) and autumn is all about going back to a routine, right?

Anyway, any moment is beautiful because it is unique. There won't be another like it and that's why you enjoy it so much. That's the blessing and the curse for us humans :)

Also,

Where you're going depends on where you've been, but even more on what you do to get there.

That's deep. And philosophical. I'm a big fan of that. Care to expand on the concept? :P

Ha I used to do the exact same thing, what an awesome coincidence :) True, every moment is unique - that's what's making me not quite so sad about the end of summer, knowing that there will be a lot of awesome, unique moments in this coming cold months.

Thanks, glad you liked it. :) Hmm I don't really like the idea that our past defines our present and our future. I don't think it's ever too late to change and that you can always learn and change your course as you go. Say you want to start doing something, whatever, but you've never done it before. That doesn't matter as much as if you start spending hours learning, does it?
We tend to focus too much on the past, forgetting that that part of our lives is finished already, and a new part is coming. But we need to see it, take advantage of opportunities etc. That's what I mean by what you do to get there...

Truth be told, I try to be nice and positive but right now I'm on a trip, it's 15 degrees outside and I'm already hating the idea that I should have brought a jacket. Summer shall be missed :(

Thanks for the explanation. Wise as usual ;) I agree with you on everything, so much so that I actually am trying to learn new crafts, if not to change careers at least to try and do something different. Too bad the human brain becomes duller with age, learning is not what it used to be for me :( But yeah, if you've got the willpower you can do almost anything I guess, although I'm not sure if this works from an emotional\irrational standpoint as well. That might be trickier.

I'm sure it's not so bad, your trip :P I'm always under dressed,so I can relate :)) but hey, if you're freezing for the right reasons and having fun, I say it's worth it.

I'm glad I had something to do with that. It's never too late, even if it does get harder to learn other stuff and change your life. It's only too late if you think it is. Interesting question about it working on an emotional/irrational plane. When you've got time, care to expand on that? :)

Sorry for the late replies, somehow my Partiko got weird and it doesn't show notifs any more.

I don't know if I'd call it fun, but it was long overdue, I just needed the time off. I've spent my summer at home and I needed time to breathe, you know? Believe it or not, tomorrow I'm gonna take a golf lesson. I know, it may sound a bit off character, but what can I tell you, I'm here, in a B&B that's literally INSIDE a golf course, and to be honest I've always liked the idea. The green fields, the peace, the birds, the squirrels, rich people. What's there not to like? Maybe at some point they'll award me with some kind of trophy as the worst (under)dressed wannabe golfer, who knows :D

Jokes aside, hell yeah you had, you've been like a pro bono life coach there for a minute. But aside from the little writing I've been doing here, I've been looking for a change of gig for a while now. Maybe I just need to find my place in the world, you know? I've tried learning some overly complicated stuff last year, but it didn't really take. Maybe I'll give it another try this year.

At any rate, I'll gladly expand :D From a practical standpoint, it's true you might be kept back by your history, your education, the money you've spent and the things you've achieved, but all it takes is a little effort in a different direction and you can steer the ship with relative ease. If you really decide where you're going is more important than where you've been, you just do what needs doing.
I just don't see it working the same when it comes to our emotional history. The things that make us what we are, starting with family, friends, love, experiences...sometimes one could wish they were meaningless. I know I've been there, trying to change things about me I didn't like, or weren't convenient at the time. Switching beliefs, changing my ways, trying to force a different life on me. But in the end it didn't take, because there's some things of your past that you can ignore and others that will always point you in a certain direction, even if you try to avoid confronting them. I guess what I meant is that where we're going includes a lot of decisions that are ours to take, and some others that really have more to do with what we are and where we come from, on a subconscious level.

How did we get here from "Summer's over, what a bummer"?

No worries for the late replies, as you can see I'm not around much these days either :) And notifs are fucked up on Busy too. I just appreciate the conversation, it's not like I'm going anywhere :D

Huh hope your golf lesson went well and that you and all the adjacent squirrels are still alive :P

I've tried learning some overly complicated stuff last year, but it didn't really take. Maybe I'll give it another try this year.

Cool. Go for it. No one said it was gonna be easy, did they? ;) And hey, if you do your best and it still doesn't work, maybe it was not supposed to.

Hm. I see what you mean and I suppose you're right. Some things are hardwired into your brain and heart, it's just the way you work, you can't really change that. And maybe you're not supposed to. Maybe you're coded that way for a reason, you know?
I think emotionally speaking, you should only do what feels right to you. Deep down, I think you always know, which frequently brings up the question - how the fuck do we complicate things so much?
You know. You either want the person/the life/whatever, in which case, nothing else really matters. Or you don't, in which case, why are you still there?

I think the sooner you expect all that unchangable stuff, the happier you'll be.

I don't know how we got here, but I appreciate the conversation, too :)

Ha! It did, and they are. It was actually quite fun, I'd love to try again. I hate sports, I end up loving, like, all of them. Even darts, for god's sake. What other sport you know that includes drinking beer as a way to improve your performance?

Anyway, you got it. I couldn't have said it better, actually, which is getting pretty annoying. I don't know if you're talking from experience but it was quite spot-on :)

Huh. Binging? I know a lot of concert goers who use it as a good moment to showcase their beer drinking skills :)) anything goes, man.

I don't really know, either. Some personal, some theory...as always.

When I was a child, I was always sad to see summer come to an end, because it meant I had to go back to school, which I did not enjoy. Now that I am over 60, school has no bearing on my life any more. I don't like summer very well; it's too hot, and too full of tourists, and too hectic. I love the cooler, shorter days of fall. It's my favorite time to travel, after the garden is done and before it snows.

I agree, early autumn is an amazing time to travel - definitely better than summer or winter. I don't know, I guess every season has its beauty. Summer has long nights and sunsets that come late and short pants and a lot of beautiful things. Open-air festivals <3 But it also has mosquitoes and days it's too hot to go out,s o...

September is gorgeous but way too short. I always get so anxious this time of year. Time to tune-up the oil furnace and get ready for big heating bills, and winter power outages are frequent enough that we really need to buy a new generator this year. Honestly, winter in New England is just so damn expensive.

Plus, it never got warm enough this summer. I really need low 90s heat to feel comfortable, and we got that for about 10 minutes this year. I don't think I ever worked up a good sweat. If I could snap my fingers and transport my life (job, home, wife and all) to Florida or Arizona, I'd do it in a second. (At which point The Wife would probably leave. She loves a white Christmas.)

:( That kinda sucks. Serious cold, but no serious summer? Definitely not my style. I get ya, but hey, who knows what tomorrow may bring? Maybe even scorching heat. :D

Agreed, September is great, the only agreeable autumn month, in my opinion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95