The rare and endangered Red Legged Purseweb Spider.

in #nature5 years ago

Red Legged Purseweb Spider 028.jpg

The Red Legged Purseweb Spider


How often do you come across an endangered species in your garden? Usually when I think of endangered species I think of mammals, birds, whales, and maybe sometimes a reptilian... but a spider!? How cool is this?




I found this spider crawling towards me on the pathway walking out to the car in our front yard. At first I thought it was a baby tarantula. I mean just look at the size of those fangs!!! They are literally the same size as the spider's body! I've never seen fangs this big before on a spider. WOW!

Red Legged Purseweb Spider 023.jpg

It took me a little while to identify this spider. For a little over an hour I was looking up baby pictures of tarantulas without any luck. It was missing the hairy legs that tarantulas have. When I found out it wasn't a tarantula but in fact considered an endangered species I got even more excited. No wonder why I've never seen this spider before. I'm sure none of you reading this have ever seen this spider either. More than likely I may never ever see one of these spiders again either. Oh well because this is one of the coolest spiders I have ever seen.

Red Legged Purseweb Spider 020.jpg

The month of June is the Red Legged Purseweb Spider's mating season. How ironic! It is the first week of June HA HA. The males are the ones with the red legs. The females have black legs. I'd have to say that It's leg span is a little bigger than the size of a quarter. If you watched my video you will see that despite how intimidating its really big fangs are this spider is rather docile and harmless. Why else would I not be afraid to catch it and let it crawl up my arm?

Red Legged Purseweb Spider 016.jpg

So if you live out in the country or plan on living out in the country you might come across one of these. If you do remember it is an endangered species. So please DO NOT smash it. I can't stress that enough! You never know, that creepy spider or bug you killed in your garden last week might of been an endangered species. Learn something new everyday.

Thanks for looking!!!


As always I'm Theo aka Rainbow Man and here is the PROOF!!!
Red Legged Purseweb Spider 033.jpg
PROOF I ain't afraid to go out and play with this shit... I mean,
PROOF of The Red Legged Purseweb Spider.

Stay Un-Tune-Ed...


Join the TRUTH party, The Radical Underground Tyrant Haters Party!!!
Comedy through activism, activism through comedy.
Keep your democracy off of my Sovereignty!

Welcome to the NEW West!!!
Rainbow Man meme6.jpg

Sort:  

O man! I just saw one of those too. First time I ever saw one. Should have taken a photo. Thanks for the info on it!!!

Dang that sucks. Would of been awesome if both of us had blogs of one of these at the same time HA HA.

wow, incredible. I love your gentle spirit.

Glad you liked my spider :-).

That's cool that you found it instead of someone like me who would have flipped the fuck out.. spiders are right there in the snake family.. although I wouldn't even attempt to get close enough to the snake to hurt it I likely wouldn't see the spider unless it crawled on me.. but in that case yeah I'd have smashed it.. no fucking way I'm letting it crawl on me

That's pretty cool, got a name for your new pet?

Nah I let it go. Did you not watch the video?

There was a video? I'll have to get to that later, gotta hit the sack. Just too tired right now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29