How to pick up a Praying Mantis.

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

thumbnail_20180914_120449_resized.jpg


I made this short video because I've never been successful in actually picking up a Praying Mantis without being attacked. They are vicious creatures and I swear they are some sort of alien race that decended here from another planet. Usually I would let them crawl on my hand up my arm like Stick Bugs that way they won't attack you. I manage to pick this one up just fine without no problem and wanted to document it so in case you ever come across one and want to catch it, this is how.



As always I'm Theo AKA Rainbow Man and here is the PROOF!!!
thumbnail_20180914_115856_resized.jpg
PROOF of the mighty Mantis!

Stay Un-Tune-Ed


Join the TRUTH Party! The Radical Underground Tyrant Haters Party!!!
Comedy through activism, activism through comedy

Welcome to the NEW West!!!
We are a Dipshit Democracy. FUCK Amy Goodman!
Rainbow Man meme6.jpg

Sort:  

There you go 😀 I've always just put my hand out next to them and let them walk on on. I used to have about 3 of them in one of my medicinal plants last summer 😎

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks Bob! I actually put her in Grandma's pepper and basil plants she has been growing on the front porch. She is still there and hasn't left yet. Grandma said she can lay all the eggs she wants too around her plants so they hatch and eat all the other bugs.
thumbnail_20180914_121658_resized.jpg

I had one fly into the shed one night and land on my laptop keypad and chilled with me for about 5 min before taking off, ill see if i can dig up that photo when i get home

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL!!! Great video and love the ad libs!

Thanks man, glad you liked it!

howdy there Rainbow Man! haha! aliens..ha.. maybe so. that was a huge one though I've never seen one that big either. very good video man.

Howdy Jonboy! Glad you got a good laugh HA HA.

haha! yes sir Rainbow Man well you have a natural talent for humor in the way you say things and express yourself so like I said, I still think you will go far here.

That's a big'un! I still remember my first fight with a mantis.

I'm planning on submitting a couple of these pics in this weeks photo contest.

Good to know; though i don't think i'll ever get the chance to see one around here, since we got a Turkey... it Loves Big Bugs !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76