Rock and Roll - Recently Tumbled Rocks - Check Them Out! Part 3

in #nature7 years ago

A few days ago I told you about a batch of rocks I recently finished tumbling. Here are a few more of them! I've also been busy wire wrapping a few of the ones that really stood out as good pendants. I'll share those with you soon as well!

Untitled22.jpg
#1

Untitled23.jpg
#2 - I was surprised at how much of the red-orange tumbled off of this one.

Untitled24.jpg
#3

Untitled25.jpg
#4

Untitled26.jpg
#5

Untitled27.jpg
#6 - This one changed a lot!

I don't feel like there as many super pretty ones in this part. I don't know. I went to the river today and found so many more. I filled both of my jacket pockets. I wish I had four tumblers going all the time, each on a different step. That would be cool. A little overkill, but cool.

Anyway, hope you enjoyed! Have a good one!

Banner 2.jpg

Sort:  

Reminds me I need to order some grit lol. Beautiful polish job✌😀✌

I like 1 and 2 the best. Ugh, I want a rock tumbler. What do you use in the tumbler to polish them?

I buy two different grades of grit and two different grades of polish. The grit looks like crushed up metal shavings. The polish looks like powdered sugar or flour.

Is that for a first and second tumble and polish, or do ypu use the different grades for different finishes or different rocks?

Coarse grit for one week, fine grit for week two, coarse polish for week three, and fine polish for week four. I've done a few different kinds of stones and I know now not to tumble quartz with anything else because it crushes and mars so easily. It is important to only tumble "soft" rocks (like quartz) with other "soft" rocks, and harder rocks with other harder rocks.

#5 is my favorite. Another poster...bitfiend...created a tag...rockhound. You might be interested in posting your rock pictures there.

What a great idea for a tag! Thanks so much for sharing with me, @nat-expressions! I really appreciate it.

I can see why #2 caught your eye - that is a bright color. Would have been cool if it had retained some of it.

#5 has kind of yin/yang thing going on with that color combo.

#3 has me seeing faces again. (I have no idea why I do this...) If you flip it 180 degrees, there are two eye sockets above a prominent, pointy nose...like a half-mask.

Okay, I'll stop now. Lol!

No, no! Don't stop! Haha! I love to hear your observations! :)
I can't wait to share some of the ones I've wrapped in wire! I just need to take a few more photos.

Awww, thanks for indulging my weirdness. ;~P

Oooh, and I can't wait to see what you've done!

Are you going to make pendants with them? I suck at wire wrapping, but I'm still working on it.

I'll wrap a few of them. Some are just too small for necklaces. I'm going to try to make suncatchers or like windchimes out of some of the smaller ones.

Excellent. Hope to see some pictures.☺

I like #4 & 5. Five looks like melted Rocky Road ice cream to me... or maybe I’m in need of dessert!

Mmm...dessert... I'm glad most rocks don't look like food. That would be a huge problem. Haha!

I am so impressed! I always wanted to do that. You have good rocks. We have limestone.

We are mainly dolomite. I think that's what I keep finding on our property. Thanks so much, @melinda010100!

Maybe not that pretty to the eye, but probably beautiful to feel!

#4 Is ROCKIN! Love it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58237.47
ETH 2479.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38