📸 VALENCIA 3/3: Blue is the Wettest Colour.

in #nature6 years ago

For the third and last article about Valencia, I would like to show you the wonders of the Oceanographic museum - one of the jewels of the Jardin del Turia and the pride of the city!

I waited until my last day to visit the Oceanographic because at my first try I just got scared by the huge number of people queuing to get inside. So, I chose to be patient: I bought my ticket in advance and then on the following day I was among the first at the gates, at 9am.

Map of the whole park.

The Oceanographic is quite pricey at 29€ for a single basic entrance. However, you can have a good deal if you combine it with entrances with the other attractions like the Science Museum and the Hemisferic digital cinema. But even without it, it would be totally worth it! Moreover, the entrance is valid for the whole day, so you can go in and out at any time!

Some numbers:

  • 100.000 meters squares (biggest complext of the type in Europe)
  • 42.000.000 litres capacity
  • 45.000 animals
  • 500 species
  • So, without further ado, let's begin our tour with the most coveted asset of the park, the shark aquarium (which they benevolently share with rays and other species in the most serene harmony):

    It’s simply breathtaking to admire all those creatures.

    Some of those creatures reminded me of some steemians. For example, @flamingirl inevitably came to my mind around the pond:

    Hello flamingos!

    And @tanata published last month an amazingly detailed article about the fascinating Mantis Shrimp, which I can’t recommend enough to read. Unfortunately the little guy was a bit shy this day:

    Shy little guy with powerful fists.

    There was a particular emphasis as well on the jellyfish, which are amazingly beautiful, no doubt:

    Shy little guy with powerful fists.

    And quite funny when you film them with timelapse:

    A couple of creepy crabs from the deep:

    Let's not forget a fish with the face upside down:

    And let's add a bit of colour thanks to Nemo:

    Of course they have also quite a lot of bigger creatures and mammals, like the sea lions and otaries:

    But to be honest, the bigger the animals got, the more uncomfortable I felt for them. I could not even convince myself to take photos of the belugas and the dolphins, because… well… as happy and healthy as they might be, it always leaves a strange taste in my mouth to see them prisoner in those enclosures and forced to perform in front of people.

    Apart from that, I would definitely recommend the visit to the Oceanographic to anyone, in order to admire as much as possible the fabulous wonders of the deep.

    And that concludes my visit to Valencia! I hope you enjoyed. Thanks for following, upvoting and commenting!

    Previous articles:


    Cartagena
    Valencia Old Town
    Valencia Jardin del Turia

    Sort:  

    World of Photography
    >Visit the website<

    You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

    Daily Stats
    Daily photos: 1/2
    Daily comments: 0/5
    Multiplier: 1.30
    Block time: 2018-05-10T16:28:45
    Account Level: 1
    Total XP: 360.75/200.00
    Total Photos: 50
    Total comments: 68
    Total contest wins: 0
    And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

    Follow: @photocontests
    Join the Discord channel: click!
    Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
    Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
    Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
    Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

    I'm so worried by seeing this post. I find that these photographs are very nice to you. Will you take these photos? The photo taken by others does not seem to be left to me. Looks like photographs may take pictures for themselves, maybe it would have been better to post. Thanks for sharing It was a creative post that the pictures of this post are very beautiful, especially the fish under the water see it on A beautiful photography..

    It's definitely worth the price! Glad you had fun :)

    Thanks! :) A recommended destination for you to enjoy in your next travels!

    Very beautiful photos and videos. I haven't seen real sharks yet, but hopefully one day :)

    haha yeah they are impressive !

    Que pasa Valenciaaa ? :-D Love this post.

    I loved the title haha so to the point!

    ¡Estupendo post, en serio! ¡Cómo me gustaría poder visitar ese lugar algún día! 💙💙💙

    Un día, seguro que si! :)

    Thank you very much for sharing this post with us. I really liked watching the rays swimming. In Loro Parque de Tenerife there is a very good aquarium too, probably smaller.
    Thank you

    Glad you liked it! Tenerife is one the last important Spanish place/region I have not seen, i hope to be able to go this year!

    Valencia oranges! Galicia - Spain!
    Our daughter spent her senior year of high school in Santiago de Compostela as a nanny and part-time student. We visited her and her host family over Christmas. A few years later, they flew to the USA to attend her wedding. We love Spain! Thank you for this, @herverisson. I found it via @gabymusica.

    Wow, your daughter was very lucky to experience Santiago AND Valencia! :) Lucky her! Thanks for your comment!

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.29
    TRX 0.12
    JST 0.034
    BTC 63578.68
    ETH 3314.57
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 3.94