Namaqualand Daisies

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

I was invited to do an article on flowers for the Hello! Hello! Group by @rlt47

When I stepped into my garden, I found the perfect topic, Namaqualand Daisies also known as the, Glandular Cape Marigold. Specie - Dimorphotheca sinuata

Here are some in my garden. They are completely out of season, but since we had so much rain. Here they are! A few years back I scattered some seeds in my garden and I allow them to grow wild here.

namaqualand daisies -01.jpg

  • Picture My Own

Let me tell you about Namaqualand daisies. They are truly one of nature’s miracles and are extremely tough. They grow in the semi-arid / desert regions of the west coast of South Africa in a region called Namaqualand; hence their name.


https://goo.gl/images/g6VS8a

They usually grow during the South African spring season from September / October. It must be said that they don’t grow every year. If there is a drought then there are no daisies or very isolated occurrences. In good years they carpet the dessert for hundreds of kilometres.

image.png
https://goo.gl/images/B4CJW8

They occur in a variety of colours, namely orange, yellow, white and purple.

Thank-you! Thank-you! You have all been awesome for reading my post.

Source of Information:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dimorphotheca_sinuata

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Hi @happyhairdays, Greetings from #HHG10! Firstly I wish to thank @rlt47 for reaching out to you. I read this flower blog about Namaqualand Daisies with great interests. I must thank you for adding my knowledge about one more beautiful flower species. For this great flower blog specially made for #HHG10, here's an upvote from me. Stay Blessed and Steem On!

First of all I will welcome you on the #HHG. We are so happy to have a new member in our family.
I love your flower garden, the flowers looks so beautiful and different. You must be feeling great to see your scattered seeds has grown up and look amazing. Thanks for sharing this post and stay blessed!

hi @ Happyhairdays ! Nice flowers !

Hi! They are very pretty Namaqualand Daisies. Can you believe they grow wild?

Welcome to HHG 10 on behalf of all memebers and I think you must be from indonesia, is it so?

Wonderful photos and I think it is abundantly available in india also namely sunflower. not sure though

ROFL!!!!! Hello @angelro. No, I am not from Indonesia, but I was teased about my Asian features from child days... These flowers are a variant of the daisy / marigolds. They are much smaller than sunflowers.

Hahah...it was a wild imagination..but I was wrong..Sorry for that...

That photo looked like some sunflower garden in India too. the reason i asked...

Have a nice day my friend...Stay blessed

No worries, it's difficult to tell from a photograph.

Hello @happyhairdays - Thank-you for taking me up on the offer, you have created a superb, post.

I love the Namaqualand daisies post. I was fortunate to see them live a few years back. They are very impressive to see. Lovely to see them in your garden.

I look forward to more great posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69633.73
ETH 3805.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74