You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why many plants decide to reproduce asexually

in #nature8 years ago

The SteemSTEM folks might be interested in this, if you include #steemstem as one of the tags.

I think some plants are very good at wide distribution, even with asexual reproduction. Especially the aquatic plants along rivers and ocean shores. They go all over the place!

I get amazed when I think of some varieties of fruit trees - and how many centuries of cloning (grafting in that case) has happened, to keep those varieties alive. Apples, pears, plums, and more - from the 1500s. That's amazing.

Sort:  

Yea, you are right about the aquatic plants! Those completely slipped my mind when I was writing this.

When it comes to invasive species, those are some of the hardest ones to deal with.

I would imagine that to be correct. We don't really have a big problem with that here in Norway, but I had so much problems getting rid of Lemna minor in my aquarium, so I don't even want to think about being tasked with having to try to get rid of this in a stream of pond!

Aww, just toss that Lemna minor in the nearest creek -- that will take care of your aquarium problem! :P

Haha, that would be going to make a lot of people very angry :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60216.66
ETH 2326.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48