You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 5 deadly mushrooms that are common in the forest

in #nature8 years ago

That's a nice first proper post, then! I especially like hearing about your own experience there in Norway. If you have any of your own photos, I'd enjoy seeing those. And how you are using any of the mushrooms you find! I curate for the @foraging-trail, where the priority is on sharing authentic experience and perspectives.

My own approach is to eat only the ones that I can identify with certainty. Even the toxic mushrooms, though, are OK to pick and look at. Simply touching them or taking them home to ID with books is not dangerous. Just don't leave them where pets or little kids can get at them. I've been looking at the North American Mycological Society's annual reports of mushroom poisoning incidents. I was really surprised to learn how many dogs get poisoned by mushrooms -- I guess some dogs eat anything they can get in their mouth and really can't tell a good mushroom from a bad one.

Enjoy all your fungi -- in an appropriate way, lol, whether they are tasty or toxic! : )

Sort:  

Thank you!

I usually try to bring my camera along when I'm in the forest for more than a few hours at a time, but I'm not really a good photographer, so the pictures become more blurry than I would like them to be. I hope I find the time to learn a little bit more about how to properly operate my camera before the season begins again next year.

When I collect mushrooms I usually dry them and store them in an airtight container until I want to use them.

I agree that it's best to only eat the ones you are 100 % certain you can identify. I've thrown away lots of 95 % certain ones myself, just because the extra mushrooms are not really worth the risk. You only have one life, but lots of opportunities to find new mushrooms!

What you are writing about dogs are interesting. Do you know if dogs are generally more likely to get sick from mushrooms than humans? I know that some of the mushrooms we consume have a small amount of toxins in them, but are harmless to humans unless you consume them every day, but pets and children might have a lower tolerance for these toxins I suppose.

I checked out the foraging-trail account you curate. To be honest I don't completely understand all of Steemit yet, so I'm not completely sure what it means to curate an account, but I'll make sure to use the foraging tab when I write about foraging mushrooms in the future :)

I've been drying some mushrooms myself this fall - which means that my harvests have been more than I can eat at one time. Yay!

I don't know whether dogs are more likely than people to get sick. It does take a person to report the dog's problem, though, obviously. And certainly, dogs have different sensitivities than people, to many things, like chocolate and salmon. And with all the recent work on mushrooms genetics, it's clear that mushroom chemistry can vary more than was imagined - and would explain why some people get sick from a particular mushroom and other people, eating the same species but from a different place, don't get sick at all. Mushrooms - endlessly fascinating!

I look forward to your posts. The @foraging-trail is one of many "trails" organized under the SteemTrail initiative. It's the start of building topic-focused communities within Steemit - beyond just tagging a post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62152.13
ETH 2441.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65