You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A SALAMANDER IN DECEMBER - An Excellent Steemit Photo Shoot Opportunity

in #nature8 years ago

Look at those tiny, tiny little toes! So fragile. It's neat to come across a salamander. They seem so different, from another world that lizards, for sure.

With a warm spell during winter, a lot of the reptiles and amphibians come out to warm up, there in Arkansas. I have come across a sunning Cottonmouth in January, in the Greers Ferry area. I think the turtles dig in for winter a little more seriously, though. I hope you come across a box turtle just digging up from hibernation sometime.

Sort:  

I so love the kinds of Box Turtles that they have around here!

They are gorgeous ones. I think you have both kinds of common box turtle there - the Eastern and the Three-toes. You may even have the Ornate Box Turtle. So many good reptiles and amphibians in your area. My parents saw a 6-foot Black Snake sunning on their driveway just yesterday. He better get to cover!

DID I HEAR 6' BLACK SNAKE?

They should be the Arkansas State Snake! That's a nice looking one!

It had probably even lost about 8 inches of it's tail, so it used to be longer!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68363.69
ETH 2642.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69