You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Pumpkin Collector

in #nature8 years ago

That's too bad that people just don't know how to enjoy some of those squash! I know some in your picture are gourds. But, that "B" is a great winter squash! I'm sure the animals enjoyed the next few nights! Good job on being an opportunistic gardener, too! I look forward to seeing what those seeds produce. You should have a lot of squash on your hands! :D

Sort:  

I wasn't even aware "B" was a squash. I wondered how many of these are edible for human consumption. Without being educated on each variety I didn't want to risk getting sick.

Thanks for replying!

I think the only gourds I see are those little striped ones in the bucket, the long-necked one in the other bucket, and maybe the warty yellow one in the same bucket. The rest I would say are worth trying to eat. I don't say that to criticize you not eating them -- but to say it might be worth trying to eat some of the ones you plant next year! You have a real resource on your hands with all those seeds!

Yes, even the seeds are great toasted. I have only tried pumpkin seeds, I guess. I would do my research before I would accidentally poison myself and family. It will be interesting to see how my crop turns out next September. Thanks for commenting!

You will have time to get to know all your squash and gourds as you grow them next year. Good luck with them!

Thanks! I just had one of the city workers drop off a really interesting squash on my front porch. I will add it to my collection!

Glad to hear your town is thinking of you as the 'squash man', lol. Now they will be an easy market for selling your squash next year! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65692.16
ETH 3511.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53