You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bee Enjoying Tiny Lantana Flowers • (original @grow-pro photos) • Nature Photography + Fun Facts

in #nature7 years ago

They are hard to keep here unless you can regulate the wild weather, but I have some local growers that do these each year. They are really great flowers when the weather is warm and produce abundantly.

I keep them in pots so I can bring them under artificial light during the unknown seasons changes here. My tulips are about to bloom and it decided to snow, so who knows when spring will decide to stay! 😆

I'm zone 7 here, but I do believe there are varieties being bred for colder climates. With LED tech making strides, it's easy to keep plants happy during winter if you can make a little space for them. I kept 3 evergreen trees alive for 2 years in my garage with burlap and 5k kelvin LED, 20 watts.

Sort:  

I use lights here as well. My Christmas cactus decided to bloom again! Love the colorful blooms during the dreary season. I will be looking for these plants when I go to the valley again. They have some nice nurserys down below in the warmer country. I am going to get some blueberry plants that will live in pots. Last years grasshopper invasion has me worried about putting them out in the garden space. Everything was devoured last year. No canning at all! :( The lights are very inexpensive to operate as well. I hung white/black plastic in my winter grow area. Supposedly distributes light better than foil or mylar. Thanks for coming by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 59696.83
ETH 2363.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55