Dam

in #nature7 years ago

On the way home, I spotted something making its way across a cornfield, toward the creek. At first I thought it was a raccoon - the size was about right, but the carriage was wrong, so I pulled over to watch.

Once I had stopped, the animal paused, then turned and started making its way toward me. I then realized what she was, and I got out of the truck to try to at least get her picture from a distance. Which was completely unnecessary, because she actually came up on the road to meet me.

beaver.jpg

I started getting a little nervous, because I don't speak beaver and had no idea what her intentions were. But she simply stopped and posed a few feet in front of me, then turned and headed back to the creek line.

I've lived here all my life, and that was the first beaver I've ever seen. I think it'd be kind of cool if more of them started turning up here - it was most definitely the politest wildlife encounter I've ever had. :)

Sort:  

Very cool beaver shot! Don't see many of those out and about.
Where are you at?

Iowa. Yes - I was quite surprised, myself. :)

Very cool picture...the beaver looks like it was startled by your vehicle and was in the middle of saying "oh my" or something when you snapped the shot. :D LOL. :D

Just so you know this may have been a very polite encounter but they can be quite vicious and their bites will remove chunks of your body easily so remember to be cautious and stay safe. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66822.94
ETH 3490.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90