Sansai Luang Park in Chiang Mai - A wonderfully maintained park almost noone uses

in #nature5 years ago

One of the things I love about my new choice of city to live in is that unlike some of the other parts of the country I have lived in, public places are actually maintained here (in Krabi the public areas were disgraceful.) There are loads of parks all over this city and this one is just down the street from me. I have no idea why every time I go to this one that I invariably end up being one of about a dozen people in it. Maybe it is too hot for the Thais. I dunno.

58543472_425326401561501_5762474363102167040_n.jpg

Although it wasn't on this time, there are small hoses that go inside the canopy here and there is a fine mist of cool water that goes all the way down this tunnel and it is super refreshing. I would be willing to bet that the plants enjoy it as well.

58462269_360758667868708_6587519674945110016_n.jpg

A river runs through the park (i guess it would be a stream, i dunno) and there are various bridges, small waterfalls, and fountains all over the place. It is also entirely in the shade which is a BIG plus in Thailand.

58049076_303154637246193_3957460321974616064_n.jpg

There are many pathways throughout and they have inspirational quotes that I was genuinely surprised were all spelled correctly and actually made sense - well done to whoever was in charge of that because this is extremely rare in this country.

58543154_442571099830675_6840365228589318144_n.jpg

Although certainly not the most impressive part of the tour, there are a bunch of exercise equipment in the back as well.

57674145_414975392666984_1747563489129398272_n.jpg
the fountain was not switched on, perhaps in the evenings

The difference between this park and others I have been to in this country is that there was a small army of landscapers and caretakers that are working there every time I have visited. This is obviously necessary to maintain the beauty and keep the plants in order. Many other parks in this country seem to be built simply so some politician can get his / her photo taken at a ceremony and then the entire place is completely ignored once the publicity has gone by (one more reason to hate politicians.)

While it is unlikely that anyone simply passing through would ever make it to this park, it is simply another example of why I think that Chiang Mai just might be the best city in Thailand.

Location including GPS coords for anyone who cares

Sort:  

A hidden gem and not utilised by the locals. It does seem crazy as parks here are normally used for wedding photos and such and are normally full of guests. Chiang Mai sounds great and only if you could sort the air pollution out it would be perfect.

That does look like a really nice park. I always like the addition of water features and if it can have a stream running through it I am even more likely to check it out. My wife and I have a park down the road from us that she loves walking at in the Summer. One of the things she likes the most about it is the fact that they are always mowing and landscaping it. When someone walks by on the path, they stop mowing so that grass clippings don't get kicked up on the person. It is very nice. No water features though :P

I don't understand that mentality, although I've seen it many times during communist years in my country. Everything had to be clean and bright when the head of state visited the place, no matter what it took.
That park is beautiful indeed. Green is always welcome in a city.
I'm not sure about the workout equipment. I mean we have those here as well but not downtown, only in other parks. I've never used any 🙂

the workout equipment is pretty terrible but I suppose it is better than doing nothing.

Hey @gooddream Thats a really beautiful park. I feel like I am in a jungle when i look on the pictures. I have a Quiz for you on my last blog. If you have time please check it out: https://steemit.com/quiz/@livecam/guess-the-age-and-earn-some-free-sbd-quiz

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55948.41
ETH 2523.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31