Camping at Wind Wolves Part 2... Rock Formations?!?!

in #nature6 years ago

Inspiration... It's a word we all hear and don't fully understand. Inspiration at a close view is something that gives another thing(such as a person) the motive to do what they do. For example, my inspiration to become a strong athlete could be when Germany won the World Cup in 2014. I say this because it is just a small example of when someone has an inspiration to achieve something big. Furthermore, I would like to introduce the topic of this article and that would be how the earth is my inspiration.

Now you may be asking, how in the WORLD is the earth your inspiration? It doesn't really do anything right?!?(I hope you got my pun) And my response, think about it. The world is huge and changes and what happens? It sticks through the change, it holds through the pain. So many people ruin this world through pollution and destruction. These were the thoughts I was having while I was on my camping trip. I applied these thoughts into learning something deep up in the mountains.

IMG_1644.JPG

I took this picture while on a tour of their Native American territory. Inside the cave area, do you see the darker areas? Those are called pictographs!! There are two ways that Native Americans marked their history, pictographs and petroglyphs. Pictographs are done by painting on the wall with some sort of natural paint while petroglyphs are actually carved into the solid rock. Pictographs are more common and that's exactly what these are here. It doesn't look like much, but on the inside of the cave, there was a pictograph of a lizard. It was raining so i couldn't take a picture, but trust me, it's there!!

But to apply this to my earlier writing, have you yet realized the thin piece of rock that is barely holding on to there? It's crazy to think that happened all on its own. Now if this place was crowded and people lived here, it would surely be destroyed due to the crude behavior of the average person. We all need to enjoy nature for what it is and stop the common thought that pollution and destruction is a normal and not bad thing. It is a terrible thing that ruins nature for the world to come.

I have more pictures from the trip including more pictures of pictographs that are up close and you can see some meaning to them!!! If you want to make sure to see them, follow me so you can see my next posts in your thread!!! Also, comment and tell me if you want to know the science behind how these rock formations are made!!! It's very interesting!!! Please upvote and keep showing some love!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49