Female Fork-Tailed Bush Katydid

in #nature6 years ago

I found on one of my cucumber plants.


IMG_20180829_124332147.jpg

The upturned proboscis of the female made me stop and ponder for a while, what exactly is this thing?! It wasn't until I looked it up that I found out the female has her egg depositor exposed. Initially I looked at it and saw the body down turned in what looked like a pained pose. I had to look at it and watch it move a bit before I figured it was a normal thing. It full on looked like it was in pain, which it may be, who knows what an insect feels. It sat on the leaf and let me take a bunch of pictures over a couple of minutes.

IMG_20180829_124417953.jpg

The yellowing of the squash leaves made it far easier to see the katydid than earlier when the leaves were nice and green. Now she stood out and I saw her right away, especially since I was looking at the plants closely for any harvestable produce. While I am not sure what she is eating or where she is dumping her spawn, my big hope is that she is primarily alone in our local ecosystem. I would prefer to not have a voracious monster living amongst my plants. The same as a wolf watching the sheep analogy.

IMG_20180829_124259973.jpg

I grew up with katydids around the area so to have them around the farm is kind of nice for the sound. But like I said I hope this is a solo.

Check out my blog @flemingfarm

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, following, or setting us to autovote on SteemAuto!





Learn how to join the Bytball WCG Distribution!

Sort:  

Like a Chameleon !

I think the saying "Where there's smoke, there's fire." sadly might apply here. I imagine if you see one there is more.

I love the sound katydids make. It is so peaceful. It's nature's music for the soul

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60625.81
ETH 2406.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61