Bee Hive entrance GIF - The coming and going of bees

in #nature7 years ago
The entrance to the bee hive is full of action and seems to need an air traffic controller with all the congestion. The one bee in the foreground takes its time to clean its antenna before takeoff, like doing a preflight on an airplane. There are a couple of bees facing in with their butts facing out and I am pretty sure they are fanning pheromones into the air.

Hive-entrance.gif


Camera: Motorola Droid phone

Processing with: Photoshop CS6

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, & following!

THANK YOU!




BitBay Smart Contracts


Sort:  

This makes my heart smile and still have faith that people care about this planet. Thank you. UPVOTED, RESTEEMED

thank you. There is still a "back to the earth" movement whether people realize it or not and it is the inner need to be connected to our roots once again that is driving it.

really nice post :) upvoted resteemed and followed : )

if you like my comment follow me :D

My husband @goatgarden just got bees two weeks ago. We're super excited. Never would have thought to do a post as cool as this. :) upvoted and resteemed.

This was from last year not long after package install so the bees did not pay a whole lot of attention to me. After a few weeks they were more at home and willing to defend the hive. Sadly they did not make it through the winter and I haven't had the funds to get more yet this year. We are getting a gallon of ladybugs tomorrow though.

That's too bad. We had a few friends with bees that have the same story. One had lost hers 3 times, so she gave up. But she lives close to a conventional farm that heavily sprays Round Up. I wonder if there's a link? Good luck work the lady bugs!

Hello fellow PNWer!

Great capture here! I love how bees are too busy doing their bee thing to care that you're all up in their beesness! Thanks for sharing!

I love this! How did you create it? I would love to do this on some clips? i have all the Adobe editing software? I love bees! I miss ours! We lost our first two hives by following bad advice...

This is the tutorial I found that helped me remember how to do it as I had forgotten over the past year. It covers CS5, CS6, and CC. Pretty easy once you do it a time or 2.
http://www.briandalessandro.com/blog/create-an-animated-gif-in-photoshop-cs5/

thanks! I will check that out!

Wow, just imagine what it is like to live in their world!

Busy little things! :-)
I read an article a while back about how bees communicate with each other to give directions to where the flowers are that they were at. As I remember, it involved an aerial display of flying in a series of little patterns to show the departing bees which way to go, and how far. I thought it was a fascinating study at the time.

greetings fellow Beek...have had 8 hives for 2 years now.
Followed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61059.95
ETH 2677.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61