Bald Eagle Juvenile came to say hi this morning - 48 hour Update - Pics/Videos/Story

in #nature7 years ago

This video was taken out my living room window this morning after a rather wild crash landing by the eagle into then out of the pine tree.


Read about the the first 36 hours of my encounter at the link below

I rescued a Bald Eagle yesterday! Lifetime Achievement - Unlocked! Pics/Vids/Story/Updates in comments

Keep reading below for the most recent developments.


IMG_20170711_091647618.jpg

Update Hour 48

After the Bald Eagle sat on the ground for a little while, I noticed it had moved a little closer to the house. About 5 minutes later I saw it hop walking closer, and closer, and closer, and then climb onto the railroad tie. It sat in the sun and faced the house. I watched as it put its head down and went to sleep for a few minutes. It spent a bit of time preening, looking, and listening.

The Bald Eagle eventually ended up hop walking over to and under our trampoline and hanging out there for a while. I was in the garden and about 11am I heard the siblings come back and fly over crying and screaming and looking for their lost one. I went and shewed the eagle out from under the trampoline and it ended up flying into a maple down by the creek where it caught a branch and hung upside down again. It dropped to the ground and I tried to coax it uphill towards the nest.

I figured I had better be prepared so I ran and got my sack/hood and the glove then returned to where it sat in the grass by the creek. I put the glove on and rolled up the sack to make it easier to apply. I had to follow the eagle around the yard a bit and it started to get annoyed. Sitting on the ground it spread its wings out, hunched its back, opened its beak and coughed at me. I am quite sure it was not pleased but I can't have this eagle in my yard for days.

It had pseudo flown to be on the driveway, taking this defensive posture, and I am holding my gloved hand out to it slowly inching closer. It coughs at me more, I get closer, it twitches and shifts, I get a little closer. I end up about a foot away from it, nose to beak, and it is relatively calm considering the circumstances. I had the bag in my left hand and my gloved right hand extended and slowly I inched closer until I lunged with the bag got it over its head.

This time the eagle was not as accepting of my bagging its head so it rolled onto its back and luckily my gloved right hand was close so its talons grabbed it, instead of any of my soft fleshy parts. During the bagging process the eagle had gotten a talon caught in the bag so the bag only was over its head and not down its wings. This allowed for the wings to be free and for an awkward few moments. I stood quickly and adjusted so it could grab my gloved hand and stand, which it did. The wings were half folded and half out, and I'm sure we looked a mess, but I carried it up the hill like that.

Being by myself there was no possibility for camera work as I only have 2 hands so fortunately/unfortunately I only have the memory of the defensive pose and the cough. In all truth it reminded me of a Skeksis from The Dark Crystal. Only once I got to the top of the hill and had let it go was I able to get video again, and only this short one as I wanted to let the siblings and it talk as soon as possible.

This evening I hiked up the hill to look but I did not see it anywhere. Two of the eagles flew over me and landed in the nest, then flew back south to one of their perch trees. I have no idea who is who of them so I won't know for sure, but if I don't see it again I'm pretty sure that will be good as it should be off with it's kind. Only time will tell, and hell, it could be back in the morning.... who knows.


My series: Being a Father and a Farmer can be a struggle

1. Time
2. Expectations

Camera: Motorola Droid phone

Capture.JPG

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, & following!

THANK YOU!




Sort:  

It's obviously a people now. Hahha poor confused thing! I hope nothing's wrong with it making it unable to fly with the rest of them! Have you called in to ask if this was normal? Maybe if it comes to the yard again you should call into a rescue or something to see.

Wow, having to move it again. Silly creature! Hah

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61696.14
ETH 3401.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52