You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Plant Propogation - Cloning Jade!

in #nature7 years ago

Those are such lovely plats to grow! I have one myself and my mum has two, quite big ones that are many many years old.
In warmer climate those can be grown outside all year round and the can turn to pretty large plants.

To grow it from a leaf you will need to gently snap the leaf from the stem. If you cut it off it will not grow. It needs that "joint" in the end of the leaf.

Sort:  

Yes I just got the jade plant actually, but in Canada, no way will it survive in the winter hahaha -- I have been successful cloning all kinds of succulent with just the leaf - the key is allowing the wound to seal - this is where it will root from. Thank you for the comment!!!

Oh Canada! No,no... not good for your winters. But he will probably enjoy the summer outside. You can keep it dunno spot and when the weather cools bring it back. That's what mum does and the plant really enjoys the to be outside.

Agree! It is important to dry it, even it might seem weird. I have a tray on my kitchen window where I put all the little leaves. Some of them grow, some not. But it is cool to observe.

Enjoy your Jade! :)

Thank you!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50