You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wonder Plant #007 - Hawthorn (Crataegus Oxyacantha), hope for heart health

in #nature7 years ago

From the first photo I thought I know it. The fruits look like something we used to call "paradise apples" when I was a kid and we used to eat them straight from the tree. Tiny things. But after I saw the flowers I am not so sure anymore. I think "our" one have white blooms.

Sort:  

I went on a quest to learn about these "paradise apples" you speak of. I found that there is a tree called the Malus Pumila that produces what people call "paradise apples", maybe they are what you are referring to. If the Malus Pumila is not the tree you know, it is possible that you saw Hawthorn of a different color. Hawthorn flowers can be white, orange, pink, red and maybe some more. However, I was not able to find links between "paradise apple" and the hawthorn berries. I hope this can help solve this mystery!

No, that is not it. The Malus Pumila actually look like apples. The thing I know looks exactly like the little fruits you show and the leaves are like that too I think. Just the flower doesn't match :p But if you say that they can be white too, maybe it is my "paradise apples". But I am not 100% sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65