Hello Deer!

in #nature5 years ago

deer4.jpg

I was driving home from my mischief (more on that on the next post) along a dirt road when I glimpsed a reddish brown something on the far left of my field of view. It was the same colour as the pine tree bark, but somehow it caught my attention. I was on a long straight stretch of road and there were no other cars, so I slammed the breaks and parked the car on the side of the road to see if the reddish brown something was an animal. I changed the lens of my camera really fast and jumped out. I walked back the road quietly, looking for the spot I though I saw something in.

And there it was, about 100 meters away, a deer! Damn, I never catch cool animals on the wild if I'm alone, all I ever see are birds, rabbits and moose tracks. Maybe it was the camouflage cap and green jacket I was wearing, or I am my fathers daughter after all.

I was under the wind, wearing camouflage and the deer hadn't yet spotted me, perfect. I jumped over a ditch, and started to make my way though the trees and foliage, moving slowly. It was minding its own business, just lounging around and eating, seemingly unbothered by anything. Once I got though the pine trees, and the deer was still unaware that it was being watched, I snapped a few pictures and then proceeded. I was getting closer and momentary loosing the deer from my sight, but I kept moving forward, little to the right because he seemed to be headed that way. I wanted to see how close I can get, and if I could come up to it from the front.

I knew that there was now only a few trees and bushes between us, and the deer was about 10 meters away from me so I waited for gust of winds so he wouldn't hear me come up to the little meadow. It worked perfectly and I'm really proud of my hunting skills, because when I stepped out from behind a bush, I had a straight view to the deer. And well, he had a straight view to me too, as you can see from the first image, and stared at me for half a minute, taking its sweet time to realise I was a human, aka, a predator. I kept very still and calm, snapped a few pics, and then let the deer run off.

For those who are interested, this specimen is a white-tailed deer stag, a big one at that, so my father says, and they are a bit harder to spot here in the northers parts of Central Finland.

I shot these images with the Nikon D7200 and Sigma 50-100mm f/1.8, which means that I really had to get close to get a good shot, because this is no wildlife photography lens. I think most wildlife photographers opt for lenses starting from 300mm.

dir1.jpg

deer1.jpg

deer2.jpg

deer3.jpg

Sort:  

I love when photo hunting goes well! More often than not, my photo subjects escape before I can snap decent photos 😆

Posted using Partiko Android

I could never be a wildlife photographer, I am wayyyy too inpatient for that!

What a privilege live on a place like that...

I envy you... 😅

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes it is, Finland is the best country in the world, hands down.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67363.69
ETH 3247.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66