Growing abundance within a concrete worldsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature7 years ago

Living in a concrete world can be depressing, but we can make it better with effort!

Here is a papaya tree that I planted 4 years ago when I lived in this particular concrete box.

20170702_072632.jpg

But where does that papaya come from? They don't grow out of cement blocks!

Well, with a little effort, and a little ecological hacking, you too can grow from concrete!

20170702_073918.jpg

I built a three foot wall into an enclosed space four meters long and 1 meter across. With effort and some tools, I broke the concrete along the length of the enclosed space, and moved those broken pieces along the edges of the container.

More than 2 cubic meters of top soil can get expensive, so I bought a wheelbarrow and began to raid the town for uncomposted organic garbage! Lawn clippings, horse poop, even a 80 lbs of pineapple cuttings from a pizzaria! I started composting in one corner and didnt stop until the whole space was filled.

Now, years later, we are eating papaya!

Sort:  

So much yes to this! With a little effort and a little patch of dirt anything is possible!

Happy Monday ⭐️

Nice pictures, I’m following you now.

i used to have one in my garden when i lived in The Gambia back in 1994 , along with mango trees

A ripe papaya or mango can turn a bad day to the good side ;)

Wow, I had no idea they grew so fast!! Great work on rigging it up!

awesome...our papayas grow really well but get hit by some fungus mold thing when they begin ripening so have to eat green in salads thai style

Oh nice! Great how you gave it a nice home, right in the concrete box. It seems like it's happy there. This reminds me of my own two volunteers, an avocado and a papaya tree. They both came out of my wormbox, and now are getting big. Cool, thanks for the inspiration. Should make a nice post. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59