Scenic Bastei Bridge and Narnia Labyrinth

in #nature6 years ago

Last weekend I decided to do something I have never done before. I took by mountain bike, filled my backpack with enough food for three days. And of course my tent (bough actually just the day before because I never had one before).

DSC_2405.JPG

Well, I needed some stuff to recharge my legs because the planned route was 280 km crossing from Czech Republic until the german region of Saxon Switzerland (Sächsische Schweiz). Final destination, Bastei Bridge.

Bastei is the most famous rock formation in Saxon Switzerland. 194 metres above the Elbe River.
The Bastei has been a tourist attraction already since 18th century. The Bastei area got a head start in 1824, when a wooden bridge was constructed to let access the visitors.

In 1851, the bridge was substituted by the present one, which is made of sandstone. The Bastei formations and magnificient views have inspired several artists, particularly painters as Friedrich.

DSC_2582.JPG

The Bastei Bridge is around 305 m (976 ft) with particularly fine views of the Elbe River. The bridges and viewing points are always open and you can access for free!

DSC_2675.JPG

Great scenery, great ride through the German park. The viewpoints were astonishing and local people where very helpful. Even if the 8kg backpack was heavy to carry with my bike and more than 3 days would not have been manageable for my non trained legs.

DSC_2765.JPG

Also a unique site, because if you are a fan of Fantasy, you will see that is where the Chronicles of Narnia movie has been filmed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94