You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: For the first time in 20 years, a spotted hyena has been found in the Batéké Plateau National Park in Gabon, which shows that the conservation efforts in the area has not been in vain

in #nature7 years ago

Nice with some good news. I read in the paper (I think it was DB) that a hunter got killed while he was hunting lions. I would not say I support that, but I have to admit that I don't feel very sorry for the hunter either, especially if he hunted illegal. Hunting for trophy's is something I never would understand. Why not hunt with a camera instead? :)

Sort:  

Yeah, good news is always nice when it comes to conservation biology. Unfortunately they are often not as common as the bad news.

I read that too, and it is very ironic. I am personally against trophy hunting, despite the fact that it often is very good for the community. Hunting a lion can cost over $100,000, and much of this goes to conservation efforts as well as the local community, so it can be good, but I also agree that the only shooting should be done with cameras.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56905.43
ETH 2398.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26