When Little Creepy Crawlies Come Out To Play

in #nature7 years ago

Well, the rain has finally stopped here in SoCal. With the obvious exceptions of mud slides and even more traffic than usual, it seemed to be a welcome change from the usual drought conditions. The weather really epitomized the saying, "When it rains, it pours."

While most of us were trying to dodge the raindrops and find shelter, I noticed some little creepy crawlies, usually shy, that came out in droves!

20180108_181427.jpg

The sidewalk around our house was suddenly full of snails and worms! O my goodness... worms everywhere!!! Worms to the point that my son came rushing in, shouting, "Mom! Mom! You gotta come outside!!" At first, I thought someone must be injured. Then... "Come see the worms!!" That's not something I hear everyday. Sure enough, it was a sight to see. I will spare you the gory details and only include one worm picture. You might not forgive me if I showed more, it was pretty disgusting!

20180108_181350.jpg

I guess the worms were trying to survive the storm. Many of them drowned due to SoCal's less than stellar sewer drainage. Now I look a little silly as I tip toe and hop around, trying to dodge worm guts when I go for the mail. But, on the bright side, the flowers are flourishing and my car is cleaner than it's been in a long time ;)

Sort:  

That is a bird feast in the making!

That's a clever spin on things! Someone always makes a profit ;)

oh my.. poor little fellows! did you put them back in the dirt?

Can't say I did. I think they were trying to escape suffocating in the dirt. But most of them met their demise on the sidewalk anyways :(

Oh! Isn't that the truth! I do not like when we get a deluge of rain out here and the worms come out from the earth like day of the dead. Ugh!

Keep you worms to yourself! Now that is not something I just tell anyone! LOL

Lol, Yes, "Day of the Dead" is a good phrase to describe it :) No worries, I don't really envision myself ever posting about worms again ;)

Bless you! LOL

Those worms look like they haven not seen the sun in ages. The worms we have here in Indiana look more brown.

Funny, the Cali worms actually Don't have a tan ;)

nice post !
and also try for more upvote you use the steemfollower
https://steemfollower.com/?r=6345

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48