Sweet discoveries

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

EAC7AA9D-8B00-4B8E-AF9F-EF9B8B9E420D.jpeg
Today I learned something sensational about cats. Bringing my cat to the vet I asked why somethimes while looking each other in the eyes he slowly closes them all the way, then opens them back up to the halfway position to gaze at me once again. I always thought he was sleepy but the vet reassured me saying this is a cat way to say I LOVE YOU!

Some cats will perform a variation of this, starting with their eyes open, then closing them halfway while making eye contact with you. On occasion, a cat will even perform one of these actions with only one eye, winking in a charming manner.
But most cat behavior experts agree that this gesture is actually part of your cat's communication arsenal.
7E7EB698-DC25-456B-A1D4-A66EDA850C4C.jpeg
18175AA3-3C53-40D4-B11A-7B8564922651.jpeg
It means that he is relaxed, happy, and content, and he wants to convey that information to you. It's like a kitty kiss! Telling you "I'm watching you, but I'm not vicious to you, trust me", he’s doing a gesture of trust and pacification. At this point it would be polite answer the cat's wink: in this way you tell him that you know that he is there, that he is watching you and that you too are not a threat to him.
You can try doing the same approaching a wild cat: try to wink at it and watch its reaction.

xoxo from me and my cat Eros!
D772A2A4-9E71-4B87-9DBF-69CE66F87DCB.jpeg

Sort:  

That is so cool to know! <3

Good to know! I love cats!

Posted using Partiko iOS

If you love cats you’re super welcome here!!

My dad calls this the "slow blink". Any time I meet a new cat, I give them the slow blink until they do the same, to show I'm not trying to threaten them. It's like talking with your eyes, I love it. Eros is beautiful, by the way :D

I love it too! It’s like having a secret talk with them :) thank you for reading me!

Congratulations @deinomache! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Can’t wait to achieve the new target! Thank you!!

Congratulations @deinomache! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57809.89
ETH 3118.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37