Canada Geese on my Local Canal

in #nature7 years ago

IMGP0261.JPG

Canada Geese on my Local Canal

It was a freezing cold December morning when I met these two Canada Geese looking for food on my local canal.

They soon made their way over to me.

IMGP0264.JPG

But I had nothing for them.

IMGP0265.JPG

So they had to find plants in the water.

Canada geese are herbivorous and can be migratory. They like to live close to fresh water.

They enjoy living near people who give them treats. They bring up their young in urban habitats.

They can become a bit cheeky, trying to steal your food from your hand if you picnic near them.

What kind of geese live near you?

Do you feed them?

Thank you for viewing!

Sort:  

It's against the law to feed them in my area. But the geese police are never anywhere to be found!!! lol. We have problems with the population and I have seen some very fat geese who don't migrate - and sadly some injured ones. They are fun to watch though aren't they :)

I agree, they are fun to watch. They squabble together a lot, haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67271.13
ETH 3515.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70