Sokolets Peak

in #nature6 years ago

Без име.jpg

Yesterday was the first sunny day since a long time and of course I used the opportunity to do some hiking. I mentioned in one of my previous post, that I'm trying to find how to go to one of the peaks above the river Beli Iskar. I asked in a mountain facebook group and some people told me where I should start my hike from but also that it would be hard to find the way without GPS. I don't have one and for the first time my favorite app - maps.me, which was always enough for my hikes around Rila, was useless. They send me some screenshots of the pathway in the group from another app, available only for Android, and it really helped in combination with maps.me, where the path was missing, but the peak was there. This peak - Sokolets, is 2021m high and has a gorgeous view of the valley of the river and many other peaks. It is not a popular place for hiking and I met no one else there, even though it was Sunday and the mountain was full of people.

It's a light hike for Rila - around 6km to the peak and 600m difference in altitude, and perfect for sunny and windy day because most of it is through a forest.

DSCN8197.jpg

DSCN8201.jpg

After many rainy days the forest was full of mushrooms

DSCN8204.jpg

This was what I saw when the forest ended

DSCN8207.jpg

Surprisigly, it wasn't so hard to find the peak with a little more vigilance.
And the view was actually even better than I expected. I thought that I would see Beli Iskar Dam, but it turned out it was not visible from there, so I should keep looking for another peak.

FSCN8321.JPG

FSCN8317.JPG

FSCN8274.JPG

DSCN8276.jpg

DSCN8251.jpg

DSCN8244.jpg

DSCN8256.jpg

DSCN8294.jpg

DSCN8299.jpg

DSCN8326.jpg

DSCN8328.jpg

DSCN8331.jpg

DSCN8334.jpg

DSCN8339.jpg

DSCN8343.jpg

Sokolets from the village Beli Iskar

I am glad that I found this place, because it is perfect for a half day hike, and I don't know many good places like that around Rila, most of them require a full day.

Thank you for stopping by!

Sort:  

Ok Daniela, usually I can pick a favourite photo but I’m struggling to do so today. I think the ones with the pink flowers in are the best...Maybe. Although the first image of you trying to be in two locations at once is interesting. I once tried to do the splits...Haven’t been the same since and tend to walk with a limp. Ok, not really...No limp at all! :) Just joking, I’ve never tried the splits. Too dangerous.

So, seriously the photos are really nice. I’md Love to go there someday. Who knows, I might get to Bulgaria at some stage. Running out of time though...Getting old! :)

I hope you’re well.

Glad you like them, Galen, it is a beautiful place :)
This time it is not at all a split, just looks so because of the angle, I am just sitting there, trying to understand how nature can be so gorgeous :) But I get your point, splits can be quite painful :D Thank you very much for your comment!

Perfect Blue,.. captured by your lense! 🤘😊👌

🤗thank you very much, @melip!

Wao, you were very tall ... Your main photo is beautiful, but it gave me vertigo hahaha. I could not be on the edge of a mountain sitting like you hahaha. I congratulate you for your courage. :) Beautiful photos!!! my favorites are those that include flowers .... :)

Thank you very much, @blessed-girl!! Sitting on the edges of mountains is one of my favourite things! And the photos with the flowers are also my favourite :) Thank you for your comment!

Magnifique!

Oui, oui, c’est vraiment magnifique! следващия ще е по-magnifique - от магическото място :)

So beautiful! Looks like the perfect weather for it!

Thank you very much, @bec-on-the-block! It’s really a beautiful place :)

You have a great hike it seems, and a beautiful view 😊

Thank you very much, @harkar!

You fly so high...
I can do it with spirit only....
Happy landing!

🤗🤗 Thank you, @trayan!

I love your hiking stories, so blessed to have such a landscape by your feets :D beautiful photography too, I definitely want to go there!

Hey, @stuffing, thank you very much!! Glad you liked it! It’s truly a beautiful place :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83