UPDATE: He's a RESCUER and helping in Houston!

in #nature7 years ago

He's there. He's in the Houston area providing aid wherever he can. The provisions taken were water, granola bars and personal hygiene supplies. Wherever that big Ford rolled in people were glad to see my son and his friends as they offered big smiles, assistance and supplies.

Getting In Was Rough


The rain was thick and fuel was in short supply in many places. Traveling into these areas was slow.

Water Is Not The Only Danger


Of course the rising waters offer much to be concerned about, but things like this downed power pole can kill.

Being There For People


As a parent, this experience makes me both proud and nervous. I am not there to protect my son. He is doing this all by his own free will. He has a big heart for helping people. Here are a few pics of my son and his friends taking water and supplies to residents trapped in flooded neighborhoods.

I praise God that, so far, my son and team have been spared the misery of witnessing death! Most of their experience has been with very grateful people that he was there to offer whatever he could. There are stories of him taking a family of seven out of the neighborhood to high ground where they could meet other family members. One man needed fuel for his generator and had no way of getting to any gas station. Brody had several cans of gas in the truck bed and filled up the generator tank. Multiple cars were pulled out of the flood. One (that I know of) was able to be jumped so the family could evacuate.

On Facebook I offered that if anyone wanted to donate to Brody to help pay for supplies, fuel and hotel rooms they could send donations with a note to paypal.me/daddykirbs . All donations with Brody's name in them will go directly to him for his efforts. He did not ask for this. He is not expecting any pay for what he is doing, but I'm his daddy and I want to help. Several people have already donated to that link. Thank you! There was enough to pay for the first two nights of hotel in the Lake Charles, LA area.

Money generated by this post (your upvotes) will go to Brody as well! Thank you for helping with upvotes on the last post. So far (at the time of me writing this post) you have raised $288.44 for Brody!


My 5 Most Recent Posts

*for your upvoting pleasure*

ImageTitle Link
daddykirbs blogWow! Look at that Brood Nest! - EXTRACTING BEES FROM A LARGE LOG - Part 3
daddykirbs blogHe's a RESCUER and on IH 10 heading towards Houston!
daddykirbs blogHurricane Harvey - Houston Rescue - A Parent's Dilemma
daddykirbs blogHow Are You Doing? - The Last (hopefully) HURRICANE HARVEY Update
daddykirbs blogEXTRACTING BEES FROM A LARGE LOG - Part 2


Steemit-Homesteaders-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Gardeners-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Beekeepers-Daddykirbs-300.pngsteemit-dads-daddykirbs-small.png

If you want a badge (Homesteading, Gardening, Beekeepers, Woodworkers, Dads, Moms, Food Preservers) please submit $1SBD to @daddykirbs with a memo stating what it is for :)


Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!


Sort:  

Sharing so more can see just how awesome helping hands can be to those in need!

Thank you @weetreebonsai ! I appreciate how you support my content and my son!

Good on him for doing what he's doing!

I lived down that way for many years, and a large part of the problem is that everything is super FLAT and there's really no place for the water to go. So it just "sits" there.

I'm sure you are proud and appreciate you sharing his story and his efforts. Sounds like we need more people to have the heart of your son, so that even in times of non-life threatening situations people will be kind to one another and help each other out as best they can!

Loving the updates! Keep them coming :)

I have a friend fixing to head that way, do you know what is needed most now. I've heard that there is plenty of clothing and they were looking more on the clean up side, but it would be good to hear from a source that's been in the loop.

@daddykirbs, thanks for sharing this story about your son. I appreciate his willingness to help others, and I rejoice that he has not seen death so far.

I wish my upvote was worth more. This is a worthy cause! Keep up the good working and good job on raising this young man so well!

I understand the contrasting feelings of pride and nervousness.. hard to know which takes precedence! But when its over and you only have the pride, you'll have a hundred stories to listen to and retell. 100% upvote, of course I hope you do well. Now I'm off to vote on your other posts

You raised a good man there, I appreciate all he is doing to serve others in their time if need, may his journey be blessed and safe and his smile be brighter than the sun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34