I like Big Buttes..... and I can not lie.

in #nature7 years ago

   Hi fellow nature fans.  I've got one hell of a busy day today, so I need to make this one quick.  That being said, I'll let the photos do most of the talking.... which is a good thing, because I'm having to restrain myself hardcore from making butte/butt puns, but please, feel free to make your own in the comment section. lol

    These are several of my favorite butte photos I took while driving through the quintessential wild west landscape of Monument Valley in southern Utah.  If they look familiar, its because they've been the backdrop to countless movies, tv shows, and commercials.  Here we go:


^^^One of my favorite compositions.  In fact, I even did an oil painting based off of this scene. One of the famous mitten buttes on the lefthand side.


^^^ A wider shot of the area as we were leaving.  Check out the bonus rainbow we got as we exited.  It's faint, but it's there!


^^^Another mitten butte.


^^^Taken from the car window as we zipped by.  Perfect, picturesque sky was a nice compliment.  Also notice how some of the sandy ground cover changed colors from area to area.  Some of the earlier photos have almost yellow sand in certain spots.


^^^ I believe this guy was called Camel Butte.  I could kind of see it.


^^^These three columns are known as The Three Sisters.  I also recall hearing something about them being a nun and two pupils.  In Iceland, these undoubtedly would be thought to have been trolls.


^^^And a nice panorama to round things off.  This is a textbook representation of Monument Valley.

   Thanks for reading! I post a nature/travel-themed blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss one!  See you next time.  - Adam

***These daily blogs showcase the natural world.  It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels.**

Sort:  

Those are some big buttes. Not very round though. Did you get close enough to smack any of those buttes?

I've heard that some of them get pretty weathered, creating some crevices or holes. You know...butte holes.

Not too round, but incredibly firm. I didn't get to touch them though. They are owned by the Navajo Nation and they made it pretty clear that they weren't too keen on people fingering their buttes too much. There were, indeed, some massive butte cracks. One photo that I didn't include here was an amazing sight, where it looked almost like a rainbow was shooting right out of Mitchell's Butte hole:

Very cool indeed. Such harsh land photographed with class. Nice work!

"Harsh" is a very accurate description of this area. It's hard to believe the Navajo people inhabited this region.... before air conditioning. lol

Hahaha, indeed!

Very nice. Upped and following! :)

Thanks @velimir! Truly appreciated.

I love the desert.

Likewise. I'm planning on heading back to the southwest this winter, possibly.

That's awesome, Great shots dude! Followed!

I appreciate that, @chrissymchavez. Thanks!

I really like these amazing rock formations. I keep seeing them as you say, on TV and in movies a lot. Great images, thanks for sharing them!

It was really neat to see them in person. It was like I was driving through a movie set!

I guess it is easy to imagine you are in a movie set when you are there...

Awesome photos, keep up good work. I have posted some photos lately too, feel free to check.

Ohh like amazing reaaly

Those are some very nice, shapely butte-ocks...I mean rocks :D

Love them! Thanks for sharing :)

lol butte rocks.. I know what you meant. 😉

Natural beauties 🙃🙃 amazing pictures!

Thanks @restlesswanderer! I'm glad you enjoyed them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68773.73
ETH 2716.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72