Daily Nature Fix: Zoo Habitat I Built - Frilled Lizards. (Original Photos)

in #nature7 years ago

Hi guys. I figured I'll share some more of my "custom nature" work for tonight's Daily Nature Fix. I you missed my last post that talked about my career and explained my username, you can find it here: Daily Nature Fix: What is "Custom Nature"?? Explaining my name. In a nutshell, I design and build museum exhibits and zoo animal habitats, but I left the company on not-so-good terms, so I won't be sharing what company it was, or what institutes these exhibits were for.
Now then this was another early build of mine. I think it was around the 4th. It was for frilled lizards, native to Australia. Forgive the photo quality. These were taken in like 2011 with an iPhone 3GS haha:

CNhabitat01c.jpg
^^^This is nearly the finished product. At this point it was just waiting to be placed on a base, then pushed up against a glass viewing window. I went with a red for the "mud" color in order to really scream "Australia!". You need to enact a bit of theater when you make a habitat for public display. Basically, play into some stereotypes just the right amount.

CNhabitat01d.jpg
^^^Here is the earliest photo I have of this ones construction process. I wish I had some from even earlier, but I do not. Anyway, you can see the one tree casting is bright white, as well as the stone/rock castings. The log in the center is not a casting, I sculpted that one. The bark was made with a rubber bark texture pad we made, and the broken end I sculpted by hand. Just kind winged that. lol No paint was on the habitat at this point. In fact, you can see some raw fiberglass cloth in the back center. It's actually on an access door that I had to hide in plain sight, so to speak.

CNhabitat01b.jpg
^^^Heres a view from the back side of the habitat, looking in through that door I mentioned.

CNhabitat01a.jpg
^^^Here's the finished piece in place. It's two inhabitants seem to enjoy it and are using the logs and trees for basking, as designed. In the background you can see the cracks in the "mud bank" that I used to hide the seams of the door. That was one of my best door-hiding jobs.

Thanks for reading! I post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam

*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

its a very great and valuable story.Some information are unknown.its a amazing motivational post also. I really impress i this post.nice nature

Great post

hopefully I can also like you

You are talented artist....

Love the post. Thank you for sharing.

Amazing...
Good post

These look awesome. My beardie would love a habitat like that!

Very creative. I love the way you made the cracks and also the colors. Good work, keep it up!

Great job, they seem to like it! I had a Bearded Dragon for many years, found him a nice piece of gnarled driftwood that he like to bask on.

So legit. Looks like you scooped it up from the outdoors. Good door hiding skills and not to mention...sculpting! You're a jack of all trades Adam!

dear @customnature your very well post...
& great post..
i really love your post..
thanks for sharing..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63204.10
ETH 2560.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79