Daily Nature Fix: We've Got Crabs. (Original Photos)

in #nature7 years ago

   Good evening, nature fans.  We're going to be taking a look at a couple of crustaceans that I spotted while in Costa Rica.  A couple of nights ago I posted some photos from that trip and one of them showed a little crab on a branch way up in a bush; and I realized I had a couple other crab photos in the stash.


^^^Here's a halloween crab, Gecarcinus quadratus, we spotted on the jungle floor.  I was pretty stoked to see these guys pop up on the hike because they only spend a portion of their adult life inland like this.  They spend a good portion of their life in the ocean, where they breed.  


^^^Here's the photo I posted the other night that gave me the idea for this DNF post.  Until I saw this little guy in a shrub 6 or 7 feet off the ground, I had no idea there were arboreal crabs like this.  There were several of them in the area too.  It was an awesome surprise and I learned something new. 


^^^I lifted up a big log along the shore in Manuel Antonio and saw this:  TONS of hermit crabs (Cenobite compress)! There were hundreds of a all different ages and sizes.  I've always like hermit crabs... it was especially cool to see them in their native habitat, rather than shitty petstore setups.  

    Thanks for reading! I post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix!  See you tomorrow.  - Adam

***These daily blogs showcase the natural world.  It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels.*** 

Sort:  

a very interesting post my friend. I also love the portrait of life. I love the picture of this crab. thanks for sharing @customnature

interesting and amazing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62985.30
ETH 3106.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87