Daily Nature Fix: Walking the Giant's Causeway. (Original Photos)

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

   Hello fellow nature fans.  I can't believe I never made a Daily Nature Fix post about this yet.  It is the seaside area of Northern Ireland made up entirely of basalt columns.  It is The Giant's Causeway:

   This was one of the two main attractions we wanted to see on that trip; the other being The Dark Hedges.  I must say, Giants Causeway did not disappoint.  Though there are one or two other locations in the world similar to this, I surly have never seen anything like it.  There are THOUSANDS of columns in the area, of all different heights and shape, all interlocking.  How many??  Around 40,000 is the number I recall reading.

   These polygonal columns are volcanic formations.  When a thick slab of lava starts cooling, the surface starts cooling the fastest and begins cracking in geometric shapes, like some types of glass.  As the more and more of the lava flow begins to cool, the cracks extend deeper and deeper... making these columns.

   Even as we left the area with the biggest concentration of columns, you could see that we were still surrounded by them.  The ground in the entire area was pretty much the tops of columns.  Who knows how much of more of it extended into the ocean?

   And here's a quick cameo of myself up onto one of the more dramatic column clusters.  It kind of helps give a size and scale reference.  

    Thanks for reading! I post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix!  See you tomorrow.  - Adam

***These daily blogs showcase the natural world.  It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels.*** 

Sort:  

How beautiful! I never had heard of this!

It's no wonder this place is so famous! Incredible geography right on the ocean.

The landscape of Ireland inspires the dreamer in me like no other place. I can't wait until I can visit one day! Thanks for sharing :)

Great collection - it would be amazing to get to this location one day. Will Resteem and follow you account

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59647.03
ETH 2622.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44