Daily Nature Fix: The Cliffs of Moher. (Original Photos)

in #nature8 years ago

   Good evening nature fans.  Today's Daily Nature Fix is about The Cliffs of Moher along the western coast of Ireland.  What an awesome name though, isn't it?? "The Cliffs of Moher".  Sounds like some from The Lord of The Rings.  Ironically that wasn't one of the many films that have features the cliffs.  Anyway, these photos were taken on our trip last week.

    The cliffs get their name from an old defensive fort that once stood at the the southern most tip of the cliffs, a location called Hag's Head (another cool name).  It was believed to have been built in the iron age and lasted up until 1808 when it was demolished to make material for a new structure - Moher Tower. 

     Here you can see a massive cave in the cliff face.  For the life of me, I couldn't find a name for this feature, though I'm sure it has one.  What I can tell you is that this was the cave used in the Harry Potter movies.  The sixth in the series, I believe (don't hold me to it though, I haven't seen any of them.)  The roof of the cave entrance stands some 350ft above the sea below.

    The cliff's are massive.  The stand at 700ft tall for the majority of their expanse.  That expanse, mind you, is nearly 8 miles long.  The are an awesome sight.  I wish it was a sunnier day as I read the sea waters light up nice and blue in the sun, and you all know how much I like see blue water.  The Cliffs of Moher are around 32-Million years old.  You can still see evidence of their formation in the layers of sediment and material once laid down by an ancient river.  You can get some sense of scale by seeing the tiny dots that are people on the upper left part of the cliffs in the above photo.  

   Lastly, I will leave you with this panorama of the cliffs.  If steemit ever supports 360° photos, I'll post one I took from this location.

    Thanks for reading! I post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss one!  See you tomorrow.  - Adam

***Daily Nature Fix is a daily blog showcasing the natural world.  It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels.***

Sort:  

I was actually thinking about the Lord of the Rings when I read the title of your post :)

Amazing nature and great pictures!

Thanks for taking the time to view 'em!

Beautiful daily nature fix, as always!