Daily Nature Fix: "Thar she blows!" - Erupting Geysers. (Original Photos)

in #nature7 years ago

Hello fellow nature fanatics. Man.... no matter how many times I tell myself "I'm going to get to bed early tonight", I can not seem to actually do so before 2am. Here I sit at 2:25 in the morning with a glass of apple cider on one side of me, a sleeping pug on the other, and my laptop on my lap.
Anyway, for tonight's Daily Nature Fix, I'll be sharing a few photos of one of my favorite geothermal features: Geysers! I've been fortunate enough to see several of them in my day, and I always had my camera snapping away when they do their thing.
Geysers00b.jpg
^^^How could I not start with the most famous geyser in the world?? Old Faithful. This photo was taken on our second trip to Yellowstone, but unlike the first time we visited this icon... it made a rainbow this time! It was also during this eruption that someone nearby yelled the old Moby Dick line "Thar she blows!" which the title of the post is referencing. Old Faithful blasts hot water around 120 feet in the air when it erupts, sometimes up to 185 feet even.

Geysers00a.jpg
^^^This is the super active Strokkur geyser erupting in south central Iceland, from our trip in July. It's located in the geothermal area called "Geysir"... which is also home to the now dormant geyser named "Geysir", which is where the word "geyser" originates from. Anyway, Strokkur here erupts every 5 to 15 minutes and also reaches heights of 120 feet during an eruption. On a side note, this photo was taken around 1am... some of that famous midnight sun in summer-time Iceland.

Geysers00c.jpg
^^^This little fartbag may not be as epic as the first two, but it definitely has my favorite name out of all of them. This is Spasm Geyser, found in the Lower Geyser Basin of Yellowstone National Park. It's a fitting name too. It's constantly splashing and bubbling around, with occasional eruptions of 5 feet or more in height.

I'm going to go ahead an use the new #photofeed tag, as described by @photofeed. I'm not sure what the qualifications are for what photos belong on this tag, so I hope mine are alright. I do like the initiative though.

Thanks for reading! I post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam

*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

These are so beautiful, the one with the rainbow is so incredible. :-)

DUDE! So jealous. Any tips on what I should do in Yosemite for a first timer? I really want to go to take photos

Actually, I'm the jealous one. I've never been to Yosemite! Its on our list though. Hopefully, we'll get out there this year or next. My only tip is one that I haven't quite implemented myself yet... get a good wide-angle lens. I'm looking at a 14-24mm. They're great to capture sprawling landscapes, and Yosemite definitely has that!

do you happen to be a nikon shooter?im just guessing because i believe they are the only one i know with a 14-24 to my knowledge 🤔

I am. Wow... I thought the nikon 14-24mm was pricey, but then I just saw Canon's 11-24mm. 😳

Where can I find a beautiful view like this?
Whether it's rushing water?
Greating @customnature

an amazing phenomenon of nature. I've never seen a geyser, it's beautiful, but it seems to me not safe

i really love the rainbows in the first picture; nice one.

Midnight sun and exploding ponds... Iceland sounds amazing.
Also...Bjork!

Some really awesome photos, I really like the one taken at 1 am giving the photo a nice blue color.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58734.46
ETH 2636.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43