Daily Nature Fix: Seals in Iceland. (Original Photos)

in #nature6 years ago

Hiya folks. Looks like I'm back to the 2:00am posting again. Oh well. Anyway, tonight's Daily Nature Fix is going to be a few photos of seals: one of the goofiest mammals of the sea. I mean, I think walruses and manatees are at the top of that list, but seals are kinda like smaller versions of them, right? These guys were spotted in Iceland hanging out in the famous Jökulsárlón lagoon, which was carved out by the Breiðamerkurjökull glacier.

IcelandSeals00c.jpg

We've seen seals along both the eastern and western coast of the country.... but it's often just their heads sticking up out of the water as they swim around. This visit in 2016 allowed for much better views of the animals.

IcelandSeals00a.jpg

I must say, the scenery itself was very photo worthy that day, but the seals were a nice bonus! :)

IcelandSeals00b.jpg

Thanks for reading! I post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam

*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

Look at those seals rolling like hotdogs. Lol. I love the 3rd photo, it shows how nice the landscape of that area is

lol I was going to mention something about them looking like sausages, but I forgot. Glad you did!

Welcome back @customnature .Really amazing photoshoot!!!

So lucky you got to experience them. The photos are just stunning!

Thanks! There's not a ton of wildlife in Iceland, so I was very happy to see/watch them.

Fantastic Iceland! North lands are my favourite places!

I loved the north! We didn't get up their until our third trip, last year. The east fjords were great too. We're still yet to get to the west fjords though.

Got to love Seals! Always so cute and they just seem so docile - most of the time!!

Yup. I like how they never seem to have a care in the world.

They are goofy! I tell Joleen that her dog Lunchbox sometimes looks like a seal, sea lion, walrus, and manatee!

Our pug REALLY looks like a seal cause his back legs don't work. We want to get him a walrus costume but haven't been able to find one that would fit. He's awesome though. https://steemit-production-imageproxy-upload.s3.amazonaws.com/DQmRRZU9sTEZeC5HfSiCuvACAC39Hn3LfsrgMY3a93YW2MZ

freaking hilarious! The first picture where they're just rolling around on their bellies! That's literally how i feel after Christmas, New Years, Valentines day with spring right around the corner.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64377.96
ETH 3500.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52