Daily Nature Fix: Making Waves. (Original Photos & Art)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature8 years ago

  Good evening everyone.  Today's Daily Nature Fix is going to be one I probably would have never made if I didn't start oil painting (thank you Bob Ross!).  It's about waves.  Waves are among the many things that I took for granted in nature.  I never really noticed them aside from looking for big ones to jump into, or over, at the beach when I was younger.  However, just a few weeks into painting, you really start to notice things that you didn't used to pay much attention to before.  Clouds, trees, distant mountains, reflections, sunsets..... you see them all in a different way because you've been trying to replicate them in your artwork.  That being said, I've started to notice waves a lot more over the last year after trying to create some seascapes.  So lately when I've been traveling, I've been taking a lot of photos of waves. I'll share a few of them with you guys here.

^^^This photo was take last October in the Azores archipelago.  Without a doubt, it was some of the bluest ocean water I've seen to date.  It almost looks fake, doesn't it?  And as I've mentioned before in the blog, it being set against the black volcanic rock made it stand out even more.

^^^Here's one taken a few weeks ago at Downpatrick Head in Ireland.  This was a pretty decent photo for studying the anatomy of the wave, which will come in incredibly handy for future paintings. 

^^^This one is one of my favorites so far. It was taken this past February in southern Iceland. Being that they were being backlit from by the sun made them especially transparent and cool looking.  In fact, this is one I used as a reference for an oil painting.  Here is the painting in question:

^^^This 11in x 14in oil painting is one of the first times I did a seascape and really tried.  I don't LOVE how it came out, but I did like how a few spots on the waves appeared kind of transparent.  That's some tricky stuff.  There is one neat bonus feature to this painting though.  It has a surprise when you turn the lights off:

^^^This is the same painting in the dark.  I like the contrast and how it's sort of like two paintings in one.  In the light, it depicts some pretty rough looking sea, and at night it shows some calm waters in the moonlight.  I hope you enjoy it!

    Thanks for reading! I post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss one!  See you tomorrow.  - Adam

***Daily Nature Fix is a daily blog showcasing the natural world.  It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels.***


Sort:  

Suddenly I want to see the sea.
Thank you^^

That painting is incredible! Well done!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.77 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 12 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I really like the photos of the waves and the oil painting. Having two pictures in one like that is really neat - nice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57440.82
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42