Daily Nature Fix: Knee Deep in a Dry Lake. (Original Photos)

in #nature7 years ago

Good evening, nature fans. I'm sorta writing this with one eye while the other one is watching the Olympics opening ceremonies. It's a lot a bit of a bittersweet post because it's going to be photos from Death Valley, which I was supposed to go to next week, but I had to cancel the trip due to my current workload. ANYWAY, here are a few more photos from the Racetrack Playa.

DryLake01.jpg

This lake has no producing source of water. It only fills temporarily from rain runoff during the rare thunderstorm. Those temporarily fill-ups are responsible for the famous "sailing rocks" which are found here.

DryLake02.jpg

The Racetrack Playa is pretty big; about 3 miles long and a mile or two wide. From one end to the other, there is less than a 1/2" difference in elevation. It's incredibly flat. In fact, the government and some public companies use the lake bed to calibrate satellites.

DryLake00.jpg

Here is one of those sailing rocks, except this one hasn't been doing much moving. It doesn't have a trail behind it.

Thanks for reading! I post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam

*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

Great pictures but can I ask is it really hot there and is this where they do land speed record attempts ?

No, I think that's usually the Bonneville salt flats in Utah.

ahhh sorry. there are some really amazing places on earth! Another for the bucket list I guess. Have a great weekend and thanks for replying :-)

No need to be sorry! I'd really love to see those salt flats someday tho.

Those mountains are steep but the ground is flat enough to calibrate satellites! Cool

beautiful scenery, nice work comrades, I think if a little more bright again may be more beautiful,

thank you already love about this for me

Would like to see some of those wandering rocks, and more of Death Valley. I've been to Saline Valley Hot Springs, interesting place in the middle of nowhere!

The sailing rocks were pretty awesome to see. It did require a pretty stressful 25 mile drive on jagged stone covered dirt road though. The whole time I was worried about blowing a tire cause you're really out in the middle of no where.

Sounds like Saline, really long drive--4x4 and high clearance recommended. On the way out we had to drive through an area that was washed out by a flash flood.P1000888.JPG

Thank for that shared work....have followed you.... I would always check your blog...... I love this one so much

I'm also watching the ceremony. the two Koreas parade together, so crazy

Seriously. Can't wait to see it!

Really nice perspective in this collection of pics - will have to make a stop out there at some point in the future. Was close by a few times but didn't get into the Playa yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57515.20
ETH 2438.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34