Daily Nature Fix: Jungle Vines. (Original Photos)

in #nature7 years ago

Good evening, nature fans. Tonight's Daily Nature Fix is going to require a bit of explaining. As I mentioned in my post earlier this morning, I worked as an exhibit designer for 6 years. I would design and build things like habitats for zoo animals to live in. One of the main parts of the job was to sculpt and paint things like rocks, trees, and you guessed it, vines. So when we went to Costa Rica, I found myself taking a lot of photos of different vines to use as reference material for my work. I'll share some of these photos right now.

JungleVines00e.jpg
^^^This moss-covered fella is one of my favorites in this batch. The way it's sporting moss, ferns, and even a bromeliad is exactly the sort of thing I'd try to achieve when building a live planted vivarium for animals such as poison dart-frogs or small day geckos.

JungleVines00d.jpg
^^^I wish I knew what kind of plant this super long clump of vines came from. I'd imagine some kind of orchid, or something? Either way, it has to have been large. These things were probably around 150 feet long and they were strong.

JungleVines00c.jpg
^^^How strong, you ask? Strong enough to support my ass hanging from them as I swung around!

JungleVines00a.jpg
^^^This area had quite a few more of those long, skinny vines hanging down... just not in clump form. I wonder if they were the same species?

JungleVines00b.jpg
^^^I liked how the one vine coiled around the other in this one. This is the type of stuff we would do quite often when fabricated vines in an exhibit.

JungleVines00.jpg
^^^Same with this one. That braided look. We would do this quite a bit for jungle habitats as well.

Thanks for reading! I post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam

*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

Looking forward to seeing more. I live in the Philippines Lots of awesome nature here. I am thinkinf of creating a root collection.

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

Seems like you had a super interesting job! I have seen those strong vines before, in Mexico they call them lianas. Not sure what that translates to.

Lianas? I'm gonna have to look into that!

Yes, my moms family owns tobacco plantations in Nayarit and in the more jungle looking areas these grow. They are what you see Tarzan swinging from in movies :)

Amazing

That is what nature can offer us. I quite appreciate the fact that you loves nature, I loves nature too. I follow and upvote you.

So cool photography........ Nature I love it. Everyone should love Nature. And should plant...

It's obviously so beautiful.
It's a beauty of nature.Have a nice travel.
I expect you become a great photographar.
I all-time visit your site and wait for next post.
Thanks

Sounds like a cool job and on top of it you got to travel and take photos of real subjects. I hope you had extra time when you traveled to do other things besides work.

I did get to travel around the US with that job, to set up exhibitions. Sometimes, if we went to a cool place like Montana or Utah, I'd have them move my flight date back a couple of days so I can do fun stuff like hit national parks, or something. My wife would even fly out sometimes and we'd make a trip out of it. This jungle stuff though, that was just me taking reference photos while on my own personal vacations. I wish they'd pay me to go do that sort of stuff!

Utah has some amazing national parks, I am due for a return to Bryce and Zion. Glad you had the chance to do the work/vacation thing.

Its nice showing us the natural world. It brings us close to mother nature

I feel like we can all use getting closer to nature.

Really you have an interesting job that you can be with nature and animals...
I like the fourth picture. Wow.. Are those so strong as the third picture??

I love seeing mossy, fern-y, vine-y places. The darker the jungle the better. I would like to see some pictures of the exhibits you've designed for if you ever post some!

Oh I'll definitely be sharing some of my exhibits in the near future. I'm going to try to add some content other than just my daily nature fix posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84