Daily Nature Fix: The Impossible Tree. "Life... uh... Finds A Way." (Original Photo)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature8 years ago (edited)

    Jurassic Park.  That was a Jurassic Park quote.  Anyway fellow nature fans, today's daily nature fix is a quick one about a tree I saw growing along the rim of the Grand Canyon.  Seeing sights like this in nature really spin me out, and I love it!  The entire area was solid bedrock (as much of the canyon is) and right on top of the stone is a mature evergreen tree.

    I mean this tree looked to be maybe 15 or 20 years old, and I mean there was NO soil where it stood.  I didn't even see a crack around it's immediate base where a seed might have fallen and sprouted.  It's incredible, no?  How did it start growing?  Hell, how does it stay upright and not have the strong winds along the edge of the canyon topple it over??  I've see things like this a few times while hiking around and I always think it's awesome.  Have you seen anything similar??

     Thanks for reading! I post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Upvote if you enjoyed it and be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss one!  See you tomorrow.  - Adam

***Daily Nature Fix is a daily blog showcasing the natural world.  It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels.***

Sort:  

Yes like this! Nice shots! And I get to love next the grand canyon. And there are lots of trees fighting there way out of the rocks around here. I have some pretty good shots I will get around posting next week and I will let you know, after my yellowstone pictures of course. I did just post pictures of wildfires, where I ran into a tree after it had been hit by lightning.

Very cool! Followed.

Followed. I enjoy networking with fellow nature enthusiasts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59364.81
ETH 2658.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49