Daily Nature Fix: Grand Prismatic Hot Spring. (Original Photos)

in #nature7 years ago

Hi folks. The Daily Nature Fix hasn't been so daily lately. Sorry about missing the past two days... I just wound up working way too late into the night in my wood shop. You know, idle hands are the devil's playground, or some such bullshit. Anyway, tonight's Daily Nature Fix is going to be a couple more photos of Grand Prismatic Spring in Yellowstone National Park.

GrandPrismatic00b.jpg

Grand Prismatic is in the top 5 of the most amazing things I've seen in my life. While I have shared a few photos of it on here in the past, I realized it really hasn't been that many. That is, compared to how many I've taken on our trips there.

GrandPrismatic00a.jpg

The hot spring is both the largest AND the most colorful I've ever seen. It's huge. Just under 400 feet across and pushes almost 150 feet deep. It's 160°F water and run off makes for some prefect conditions that allow the colorful orange microbial mats to thrive.

GrandPrismatic00c.jpg

As we stood there in awe, looking over Grand Prismatic, I couldn't help but to also see these geothermal features that are churning just below the surface of the Yellowstone super volcano, which will one day change life as we know it. If it blew at that very moment though, we would have had one hell of a view on our exit.

Thanks for reading! I post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam

*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

Wow! It's unbelievable to think that this place actually exists! Literally left you speechless as the pictures say more than words could ever do! :)

And seeing it in person says even more than the photos!

I'm sure it is. If pictures amazed me so much, in reality I would be totally hypnotized

Beautiful landscape..nice hot spring..get well soon my friend.

Wow so beautiful. I was in Yellowstone back in the mid 90's (94 or 95) during a geology field trip I took while in collage. Saw so many beautiful hot springs. I remember the waterfalls on the Yellowstone river being pretty amazing also.

Yeah! What are they? The upper and lower falls, or something? Iceland has really spoiled us with waterfalls though. Yellowstone's hot springs and geysers blow Iceland's out of the water though.. no pun intended.

I have to go there one day.
There is so much at Yellowstone that I want to see.

If you go, try to hit Glacier National Park as well. I couldn't pick which one I like better. They're only around 5 or 6 hour drive from each other.

That's got to be pretty crazy to see in person, it's on my list, if it doesn't blow first ...

Yeah, man. Big time. It's definitely a bucket list item, or at least it should be.

Lucky you you get your chance in June. Don't forget!

Photography is so beautiful...
keep it up,sir@customnature

#upvoted #resteemit

Dear @customnature.. your nature photography is a wondarful...& very good your traveling.. i really love this post...thanks for sharing..

Thank you, @numanahmed. I'm glad you like the post!

I really love the background

Nice pictures! thanks for sharing

Great work keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81