Daily Nature Fix: Epic Nature in Black & White. (Original Photos)

in #nature8 years ago

   Good evening to all my followers and nature fans alike.  Today's Daily Nature Fix is going to be something new.  It is a few of my favorite nature photos set to black and white (grayscale if you want to get technical).  I don't usually do much in this style, but I figured it might be fun and something different for you all.  I'll give a quick story of each photo as well.  So without further ado, lets get started!

^^^This first one was taken this past February on our second trip to Iceland.  It is that 'hidden' waterfall that was the subject of a previous DNF post (Daily Nature Fix: Join Me on a Hike To (and behind) A Hidden Waterfall in Iceland.)  It stands a solid 200ft tall and you can walk all the way behind it and out the other side.  Check out that link for a first-person-perspective video of me doing exactly that!  This picture was taken with my iPhone 6 actually.  Using the volume buttons to snap a photo is a nice little tip because it allows you to get the lens super close to the ground or water for some neat images.

^^^This one was also taken in Iceland during the same trip.  This was a black sand beach just outside of the town of Vik.  The white snow contrasted really cool against the dark sand.  This photos doesn't look all that different in 'color', to be honest.  Those seas stacks in the distance are the Reynisdrangar and is what Vik is famous for.  Legend has it that they were trolls who took over a ship, but then it all turned to stone in the daylight. :)

^^^This one is my favorite in this batch.  It was surprised with how much I like it in black and white.  It was taken at the southern rim of the Grand Canyon in 2013.  I remember it being pretty far from the main visitors center area and just pulled off along the highway that follows the canyon's edge.  

^^^This is a massive tree in the middle of the Monteverde Cloud Forest in Costa Rica.  It was taken in 2011 with a Nikkon D90.  I wish photos would give a better scale perspective of things.  This tree seemed like it went on forever.  I really liked the vines hanging down from the canopy as well.

^^^Okay, okay, so this one isn't really "nature".   If you scrolled over it quickly, you may not have even noticed that it isn't black and white either!  That's why I added it to the group here, seeing if I could pull a fast one on you guys.  This is fully in color and gives a good impression of what that day was like, lol.  It is the famous crash site of a DC3 airplane that happened in 1973 in southern Iceland.  It has become one of the most popular tourist stops in the south.  The color of the plane, sky, and sand/snow really made it feel like we were walking around in a black and white photograph.

    Thanks for reading!  If you like this Black & White version of Daily Nature Fix, maybe I'll do another sometime.  I post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss one!  See you tomorrow.  - Adam

***Daily Nature Fix is a daily blog showcasing the natural world.  It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels.***

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62648.12
ETH 2562.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74