Daily Nature Fix: Big 'Bergs in Newfoundland. (Original Photos)

in #nature6 years ago

Hello Steemit, I'm back! We recently got back from a long ass road trip through Canada, all the way up to Newfoundland. That being said, the Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest will resume this coming Tuesday. So yeah, Newfoundland. There were two things I was really hoping to get out of this trip: #1 was to see some giant icebergs and #2 was to see some whales. Fortunately, we did see both. Tonight's DNF will focus on the iceberg part though.
We did end up seeing several after investing a lot of time driving and boating. While they were all cool, what I really wanted to see was some of those massive ones that tower above the surrounding shoreline and hills. Eventually, after an internet tip, we caught our first glimpse of it as we approached Goose Cove at the tip of the northern peninsula:

NewfieBergs00a.jpg
^^^Pro Tip: the iceberg is behind the hill to the left of the photo.

These big ole bits of glaciers have quite a story. Aside from being created some 10,000 years ago, they have a journey that takes almost three years for them to reach these coves after they break off in western Greenland. A lot of history in these chunks of ice.

NewfieBergs00b.jpg

So yeah, this was the view after we walked up to the top of the hill. This guy was around 100 feet tall, I'd say, but they get much much, apparently. We were lucky to see this actually, and not just because it's so cool. This time of year is pretty much right at the end of the iceberg season, and the very beginning of whale season. Soooo, you could either see both.... or you could see neither.

NewfieBergs00c.jpg


Thanks for reading! I try to post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam

*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

Wow! Simply amazing! I've flown over Greenland and Newfoundland and seen them from the air, but it must be so incredible to stand there looking at one. Fantastic photos!

Greenland is very high on our list of places to visit. I'd love to see some of these icebergs calving off!

I hope you go, because I would love to see your photos!😃

Amazing Glaciers. I can not see anyone in orignals places.

The iceberg is so cool and it looks quite alien here in the cove!

It looked so crazy seeing it from like 1/2 mile away. It was so much larger/taller than anything else around.

You captured it well!

Nice article brother...nice picture.... thanks to share with us...

Very cool. Never thought about walking up to ice bergs. Nice shots :)

Nice bro. visit also my profile @fariskhan

Oh! Here you are again @customnature I already missed.
your photos are great, every time I see them I travel in them hehe, I love them!
Wow, those glaciers are so old
after they arrive there how long do they last?

cool photos! its weird seeing a big hunk of ice surrounded by green.

Cool photos! its weird
Seeing a big hunk of ice
Surrounded by green.

                 - madpotters


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

haha this is so cute!!

Hope all is well with you! You are missed!

I was wondering what's happened to him. I hope everything is ok and it's just summer that keeps him away from Steemit! I miss his contests!

Wow look at the colour of ice... that special blue is never fond elsewhere...
won't there be more Abandoned shit contests? Is it permanently on hold?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64136.37
ETH 2755.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68