Daily Nature Fix: Around Ireland. (Original Photos)

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Hi guys, before I get into tonight's DNF, I just wanted to let everyone know that the Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest is going to be on hold for another week. I'm traveling out of the country tomorrow and won't be able to run the contest while I'm away. Look for it to return once I do!


Anyway, tonight's Daily Nature Fix is going to a couple more photos from Ireland and Northern Ireland. They don't really have a theme or anything, just a few images I haven't shared yet. I hope you like them!

IrishCountryside00d.jpg
^^^Probably my favorite from the bunch here. I'm not sure the name of this cemetery, I just remember it being along the western coast of Ireland on a road that's part of the Wild Atlantic Way. Some of the graves weren't that old, but some were. As was the old church ruins among them.

IrishCountryside00b.jpg
^^^Here's one featuring some of the weather most people imagine when they think about Ireland. It's the Kylemore Abbey on a dreary day. It was raining pretty good and you can see the white streams of water flowing down the mountain in the background.

IrishCountryside00c.jpg
^^^The Gleninagh Castle. We saw this one from the road, but had a really hard time figuring out how to get down there. We did, eventually. It was nice because no one else was there. This old tower house is from the 1500's and it looks over Galway Bay, which you can see in the background.

IrishCountryside00a.jpg
^^^Here's a short panorama shot at Downpatrick Head in Northern Ireland. Left, you see the nearly 150ft tall Dún Briste sea stack. To the right, you can see me dicking around with something... I think it was a 360° camera. :-P


Thanks for reading! I try to post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam

*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

These pics really make me want to visit Ireland. It looks like such a wild place.

I want to build a castle some day...have a good trip!

Thanks! How about that Yellowstone??

It was pretty awesome, rained a lot so we missed out on seeing some stuff, next time!

That sea stack looks unreal! A part of me is so compelled to find a way to climb to the top of it and just stand out there isolated...

For real, right? From what I understand, there was a land bridge that went out to it and people lived on it. Centuries ago, the land bridge collapsed and stranded the people on the stack. They were eventually saved with the help of some ships.

Nice work, great shots @customnature :D

Oh, I like the second photo very much. It's magical. :)


You got a plankton sized upvote from @worksinsane because your post appeared in the We Curate quality post search tool. It is a web art thingy thing that searches posts which fulfill predetermined rules. Upvoting isn't automated, @worksinsane reads posts before upvoting.

For more information read the introduction post.

You sure capture some unusual spots. The sea stack and the cemetery are my favorites but all are great shots!

Thanks, bud! I especially like the visible layers of rock on the sea stack. Millions of years on display right before your eyes.

Excellent your photographs that captured the beauty of that country again, greetings @customnature and have an excellent trip. 😘👌

Ireland is on my bucket list and looking at them photos just wants me to go there even more. Cheers and safe trip !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89