Daily Nature Fix: Animals From My Workplace. (Original Photos)

in #nature6 years ago

Hi folks. For tonight's Daily Nature Fix, I wanted to share a few photos of animals at the aquarium/zoo I work at. They wanted me to snap a few portraits of some of the reptiles for the website and social media.

ECArept00b.jpg
^^^This little fella is a Grandis day gecko. You know, just like the car insurance one. He nearly seemed as if he was posing for me!

ECArept00c.jpg
^^^This here is an abronia, also called an alligator lizard. They're little. Maybe only around 6 inches long... but really cool. Their scales make them look like tiny dragons. They're from Mexico and other parts of central America.

ECArept00e.jpg
^^^Here's a Wagler's pit viper. They have some really cool color and pattern to them, and their venom is somewhat mild compared to other viper species. They're sometimes referred to as "temple vipers" due to their dense populations near a few ruins in Malaysia.

ECA00u.jpg
^^^This little guy is one of my favorites in the whole zoo. They are pygmy leaf chameleons from Madagascar. They're only around 2 inches long and look almost exactly like dried leaves. In this photo, there's actually the silhouette of a second one in the foreground.


Thanks for reading! I try to post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam

*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

WOW ...They are all pretty cool but i love the Gecko , me living in Thailand get to see many shapes , colors and sizes of these cute looking Gecko's i have living in my room he always pops he head from from behind the air conditioning unit a quick stare at me and runs of again fast little buggers :)

lol I wish I had geckos living in my house! They'd take care of all the unwanted bugs.

Lol...your right about that i especially love when they eat them damn misquotes that i hate so much so i just let him be and make him feel at home :)

Great images, I'm wondering what kind of lighting you used, I'm guessing ring flash?

Thanks! Nah, no additional lighting. Just the lighting that was on the enclosures.

I should have looked at the eyes for a better guess, but it was the black background that made me think a flash was involved.

To be honest, I don't really know a ton about photography. Would a flash enhance that black background affect? I like it at times. Pretty dramatic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48