Daily Nature Fix: A Rare Condor in a Grand Canyon. (Original Photos)

in #nature7 years ago

   Good evening, fellow nature buffs.  It's hard to distract one's gaze from the sheer majesty of the Grand Canyon, but the subject of tonight's Daily Nature Fix did exactly that, for me.  It is one of the rarest bird I've ever seen.  Actually, it's one of the rarest birds in the United States, which puts it high in the running for rarest in the world.  It's the critically endangered California Condor. 

   There were only 27 of these birds in existence durning their populations' lowest point in the 1980's.  The pesticide, DDT, was a large factor of their decline as well as lead positing, caused by eating dead animals that had been killed with lead shot and bullets. 

   Aside from being among the rarest birds in the country, they are also the largest.  One specimen's outstretched wingspan measured in at 9.8 feet!  Adults can tip the scales at around 25 pounds.  Good thing these guys are scavengers.... they could carry off small children at that size.

   We spotted this bird soaring around the southern rim of Grand Canyon, just as the information graphic said you'd be likely to do.  A nearby tourist identified the bird with his binoculars.  Sometimes I wish I had one of those big ass, high-powered telephoto lenses for our camera, but I haven't been able to justify the purchase of one.... yet.  

   Fortunately, the population of California Condors has been improving since that low point in the 80'; though it is a slow improvement.  Today, there is around 450 birds in existence, nearly 200 are in captive conservation programs, however. 

    Thanks for reading! I post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix!  See you tomorrow.  - Adam

***These daily blogs showcase the natural world.  It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels.*** 

Sort:  

Fucking Nature..

Unbelievable

lol! Best comment ever. I've actually said that exact phrase to myself at some of these places I've gone.

awesome shots, one of the most breathtaking places I have ever visited

A beautiful proud bird. Sometimes predatory birds come to us. They are amazing. I'm always glad when they return to nature.

wow wonderful Photo..
Its amazing :)
you are very good photographer

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54461.78
ETH 2294.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28