Daily Nature Fix: A Hidden Rainbow at a Waterfall. (Original Photos)

in #nature7 years ago

Hello fellow nature fans. Tonight's Daily Nature Fix will take us back to the early part of last month on our trip to Germany and Iceland. We were at one of the most popular waterfalls in Iceland called Skógafoss. At that time of the year, there was only around 4 hours of sun in a day... but sunrise and sunset seemed to last around an hour and a half, each. It made for a weird atmosphere. It kind of felt like a constant twilight anytime it wasn't dark. The sun was setting directly behind us on the horizon and made everything kind of orange and pink colored. There was an awesome surprise hiding at Skógafoss that day, and you could only see it if you walked right up to the crashing water. A rainbow!
RainbowWaterfall02.jpg

Pretty sweet, right? We were there for maybe 40 minutes or so and had no idea a rainbow was hiding right in front of us. I'm assuming it had to do with the angle of the sunlight hitting the waterfall's mist. My mom, @bonni, was the first one to spot it actually. As soon as we got there, she pretty much ran right up to the base of the falls with my wife. She came back to where I was and showed me a picture of it she took on her phone, so I ran up and took a couple photos myself.
RainbowWaterfall01.jpg

I'll include one more photo here of Skógafoss from a hundred yards back, or so. Both to show that the rainbow is non-existent from a normal viewing distance.... AND to include a few people it the shot to add some size reference to this 200 foot tall beast!
RainbowWaterfall00.jpg

Thanks for reading! I post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam

*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

Isicles, rainbows, snow, and of course the waterfall come to together to make great pictures.

Amazing post
Waterfall rainbow beautiful

Wow it’s amazing!
I love it.

I will have to add this waterfall to my list of places to visit before I die!

Really, you should just add all of Iceland to that list. That place is incredible!

Awesome photo I like I am new here hope you upvote me thanks

let's share comments, vote, rewards!

cool upvote me i upvote you done....
you are great

you are awesome keep posting and also upvote me thanks

Holy moly!

I know, right?!

A beast indeed!
Will have to go there someday

I'd enjoy seeing you unleash a photo barrage on all of Iceland!

Would LOVE too!

What a wonderful place to visit, it's will make our souls happy a long we have been there

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50