Daily Nature Fix: A Bird on a Bison - Yellowstone. (Original Photos)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature6 years ago

Hello fellow nature enthusiasts. I decided to make tonight's Daily Nature Fix post before dinner, instead of like 3:00am. Around two weeks ago, I posted some photos of a few bison (my favorite native North American land mammal) that we saw in Yellowstone, and everyone seemed to really like them. https://steemit.com/nature/@customnature/daily-nature-fix-bison-in-yellowstone-original-photos That being said, I've decided to share a few more. Like this awesome guy who was wearing a tiny bird as a hat!

BirdBison00.jpg

I shared this whacky duo around a year and a half ago, but the post went pretty much unnoticed. I'm happy to present them again now that I've accumulated more nature-fan followers. I'm sure this is a somewhat common size when you're hanging out around a herd of bison, but it was the first time we've seen it. I'm sure the bird was picking off bugs or gathering up some nesting material. I snapped a bunch of photos in a hurry, but only a few came out okay. These are some of the better ones.

BirdBison01.jpg

I didn't even notice there was a bird on his head when I took the photo above. Kylene spotted it as I was putting the camera back away. Like I said, I whipped it back up and started snapping. The bird only stuck around for bout 20 seconds in all.

Thanks for reading! I post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam

*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

Ultimate dream is to have acres and a couple of buffalo. Incredible shots as always,

Yeah I can get onboard with that. My boss has some watusi cattle... they're pretty cool too. IMG_3021.JPG

its the typical eamples of mutual life. bison and bird, both of them is happy from this situation.)

Agreed! A symbiotic relationship.

sure the word is symbiotic.) bye the way I am taking photo sometimes but not professional like you. it makes me happy to look at my photos.
https://steemit.com/photography/@steemitci/photo-diary-taraxacum-officinale-karahindiba

Oh I'm not a professional at all! I just have a camera and like to take pictures. :) I'll have to check out yours.

so amateur spirit in working affects people more sometimes.) I am following your photographs pleasurably. thanks for visiting my blog.

Bison enchanted, what more beautiful and impressive animals.
Excellent photographs

I probably would not have noticed that bird if you did not mention it as well. Looks like a pretty smart bird to me.

Good customnature

To be a bird on a bison's head.... Happy little guy, I wonder if the bison even notices?

He sure didn't seem to. That, or he just didn't care. I'd be concerned with birds' fondness of shitting all over.

I would like to see them in the wild some day...maybe this summer when Joleen takes me to a wedding in Montana.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46