Ink cap pleated mushrooms (from Coprinus plicatilis to Parasola plicatilis)

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

I found a few of these Pleated ink cap mushrooms. I like their alternative name : Japanese parasols. They were dotted around the recovering lawn earlier this morning - it’s only ow 7:40 am (clearly, I get up too early). Thank you, dog.

These mushrooms don’t last long; they’re very delicate and with the help of other creatures (ie slugs) they go quickly.

According to this website. This type of mushroom is found :

On soil amongst grass in unimproved grassland, parkland, on lawns and along woodland edges (but not in woodland).

Once again I had to laugh because it’s absolutely true; that’s what that lawn looks like now, unimproved grassland, after such a dry spell of weather.

I thought it was interesting how thanks to DNA mapping this species was moved from one scientific category to another (from Coprinus plicatilis to Parasola plicatilis). To me this shows the importance of ongoing learning within any field - once you learn about something you have to keep up-to-date and not be contented with just one source either. If you would like further details have a look here.



all photos by @cryptocariad



Sort:  

I love finding mushrooms especially when they just pop up overnight and are gone the next day. This little guy was in the shade under a community hall.
20170117_192104-01.jpeg
Interesting post. :)

Thank you @gmatthe2... It's always surprising to find them :D

Do you eat these mushrooms @cryptocariad? They look very delicate. 😊

No I don't @gillianpearce. I'd have to go out foraging with someone that knows what they're collecting - I'd rather be safe than sorry ... :D

Very wise @cryptocariad. I'm the same. Except for blackberries maybe. Those I can recognise. 😂

Well, I hesitate with those too @gillianpearce... I see the flies standing on them, so I pick them, wash them and then eat them... I'm not a very good forager 😂...

I'm not a very good forager

Me neither @cryptocariad. I have to inspect them for creepy crawlies first and then wash them. 😂

These mushrooms are very beautiful. Like little fairy bells or I guess parasols. Very nice photos and post @cryptocariad

Thank you @steven-patrick - and they're so delicate too !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63248.94
ETH 2576.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85