Exploring Tyulenovo & Bulgaria's northern Black Sea Coast - Through the Broke Traveller's lens - Ep 21

in #nature7 years ago


Bulgaria's northern Black Sea Coast sure was fun to explore with some friends. We set off from the Romanian capital, Bucharest, with a few cars and drove to Tyulenovo in Bulgaria, stopping along the way in the border town of Vama Veche where we partied until sunrise before continuing the rest of the 38 kilometers to Tyulenovo.

I took the images in this post with my old iPhone 4S and I know they aren't my best work but it was all I had from this great little spot that not that many know about.



Tyulenovo is a small village with a few guest houses and about 4 small hotels by the Black Sea. There isn't much of a sandy beach there, apart from a small one by Hotel Tyulenovo. Despite this, the area is really beautiful because of the large sea cliffs that have interesting cave systems running through them. Some of these caves seem to have been made by locals at some point or another and others seem rather natural.





We ended up doing some climbing and deep water soloing on the sea cliffs in Tyulenovo, most of us camped for the nights we were there next to this interesting rock formation.


This is where I decided to put up my tent.


We enjoyed beers & fresh clams at the nearby Khan camp and at Hotel Tyulenovo.

We had some really cheap and delicious local dishes at the Hotel Restorant Delfin. I feel bad that I cannot remember how any of that was called but it was sweet (that is honey in that cup) and there was cheese in the fried balls. Image below... :)



We were enjoying Tyulenovo even when we ended up waiting out a storm in one of the caves there. That was fun too and that way we could still have fun despite the change in the weather. As soon as the rain stopped we decided to scout out the north side of the village.



We took our cars north of the village and after a few km we came across a really nice cave system running along the top of the 16-18 meter tall sea cliffs. We descended via a hole with a straight metal ladder and chilled there for a while. There were fire pits, straw beds and even a little chapel with religious icons and candles.










That's about it for this place, at least for now. But I do plan of returning there at some point soon... :D


Hope you like the post and please let me know what you think about the images. I really like feedback...

Also, I would want you to know that I would be humbled if you decided to use any of my images, however, please contact me about it first to discuss the matter. Thank you! :)

Sort:  

Those caves looks like great meditation spots. Great pics.

Thanks for the visit and sorry for the late reply! Yeah, I also think that would be a nice place to meditate. Not sure who uses them but since there's a shrine there, I would imagine that it could be some local monks. All the best!

I would imagine that the monks visit those caves frequently for spiritual practice.

what a pleasant journey,happy trip.

Thanks for the visit, I'm glad you enjoyed it and sorry for the late reply! My life is a bit hectic at the moment. All the best and steem on!

Hi @creutzy I love the place and the photos you took. Great post.

Thanks for the visit and sorry for the late reply! I've been swamped with work and didn't get to go on Steemit much. I am glad you liked it though... :D

That place bring some memories :)
Though I'm not much for climbing, I do love me some nice nature chilling.
Nice post, bro!

Thanks mate! :D We should go there at some point... :)

Sure thing :)

What an incredible place you have visited. I've never been anywhere near there so I'm very grateful you're sharing these pictures.

Thanks for the visit and sorry for the late reply! I am glad you liked the post... These are spots a bit off the "beaten track", at least for most people. But then, the world is still large enough and there are so many spots around that you just can't see all of them in a lifetime... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75