Good, Clean Fun

in #nature7 years ago

0609171307a_HDR.jpg
Deep Creek is an eden in the mountains just 20 miles drive from the blighted city of San Bernardino, CA. It flows year round from Running Springs to Hesperia, where it becomes the Mojave River. It is most famous for its hot springs on the desert end of its 23 mile cascade through granite cathedral canyons, but I am enamoured with taking a cold plunge on a hot day in a private swimming pool like this.

0609171305_HDR.jpg

I have been taking my son here since he was 2 and I had to carry him on my shoulders most of the way. Yesterday I watched him frolic at age 17 in the bottomless waters, laughing when the little fishes nibbled his toes. I felt such a sublime contentment in raising a young man so grounded in nature.

0609171304a_HDR.jpg
We both love all of the creatures that make Deep Creek their home. From this fascinating dragonfly with its unique wing structure, to the stellar jay who mimicked a hawk's cry, to the brown trout darting between water plants and rock pools, to all of the creatures too shy to show themselves but who leave spoor behind like calling cards-- we love you!

0609171301b_HDR.jpg

On this occasion, I brought a friend out to show him the restorative beauty of this, one of my favorite places. Sharing is caring, as the cliche goes. He, too, discovered how nurturing it is to recline in the river under an epic blue sky. On our hike back out, we were rewarded with a bower of wild California roses.
0609171718a_HDR.jpg

I feel so grateful for Deep Creek, for friends and family. Nothing more is needed besides the rushing clear water, the granite and sand, the playful breeze, the burning sun above! These four elements can grow into a towering tree--or you and me.

In Metta,
Love,Cat

Sort:  

Looks like a real treasure!

Seriously :) In this desert climate, swimming holes are a premium!

This is absolutely beautiful! It makes me feel so peaceful looking at it.

Thanks @goldenroom I am so happy it brings you that peace, too. Thanks so much for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59836.36
ETH 2365.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47